1. Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premiere online community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Inspection Checklist

Discussion in 'Newbies/Appraiser WannaBe' started by DanWaechter, Oct 13, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DanWaechter

DanWaechter New Member

Aug 26, 2002
    Professional Status:
    Licensed Appraiser
    State:
    California
    As a newbie I have been trying to locate and/or create a perfect Inspection Checklist and Comp listing that I can take with me on all inspections, just to make sure I dont forget anything. Is there anyone out there who would be willing to share their Inspection Checklist with someone who would greatly appreciate it? Thanks for any help! :D

Dan

2. Liz South

Liz South Junior Member

Jan 15, 2002
    Professional Status:
    Licensed Appraiser
    State:
    Virginia
    Maybe I'm overly careful but I just copy page 1 of the URAR and use that and then graph paper to sketch the property. That way I figure that I can't forget something when I am out inspecting. This method has always worked well for me. I use a highlighter to highlight special sections (ie HOA dues) that I need to specifically ask the homeowner.

The use of graph paper allows me to make sure that I have measured correctly while still in the field. It's bailed my butt out several times when I have written down an incorrect figure.

Alamode now allows use of "pocket total" which I am switching to, however I still like having a paper report to work from also.

Liz S.
    Grateful that fall is now here.

3. Mountain Man

Mountain Man Elite Member

Jan 15, 2002
    Professional Status:
    Certified General Appraiser
    State:
    Georgia
    Ditto, the front page of the URAR.