1. Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premiere online community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Real Estate 4-year Degrees

Discussion in 'Appraisal Education' started by Ty Barton, Mar 7, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ty Barton

Ty Barton New Member

Mar 1, 2005
    Hello,

I've been a part-time student for years and am finally nearing my goal of receiving a BA degree. At this point, I have enough credits that could generally be used for any degree plan that is available. I was wondering, are there any colleges or universities in Illinois that offer a 4-year degree in real estate? Does anyone know?

Generally, the schools that I know have just the usual certifications in real estate but not an actual bachelors degree. I'm also aware of Northwestern's masters program in real estate but they don't offer a bachelors degree in real estate. Other schools only offer real estate as a part of another program (i.e.: risk management, or finance).

Anybody know of anything else in IL?

Thanks for your help.

Kind regards,
    Ty

2. Tony in Ohio

Tony in Ohio Member

Jan 15, 2002
    Professional Status:
    Certified Residential Appraiser
    State:
    Ohio
    Hello Ty,

Congratulations on all your hard work and finally getting close. I went both part time and full time and I think it was harder when I went part time.

I don’t have the answer to your question but check out the business and architecture schools at the larger universities. They may be able to offer you a smaller program that fits, but may be named something that you would not think to search for. My degree in Real Estate and Urban Analysis was a small offshoot of the Finance school at the Ohio State University, but it was small enough, and the school was big enough, that the general counselors may not have even been aware of it.