1. Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premiere online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Scan documents into the workfile

Discussion in 'a la mode (TOTAL)' started by George W Dodd, Jan 1, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. George W Dodd

    George W Dodd Senior Member

    0
    Jul 9, 2002
    Professional Status:
    Certified Residential Appraiser
    State:
    Virginia
    I have a scanner that has ADF but I haven't found a way to scan multiple documents into the work-file except by individual scans.
    I'd like to be able to just set the stack of paper I want scanned, press the button, and let it scan all the pages. Has anyone figured out a way to take advantage of the ADF?

    Thanks
     
  2. Austin

    Austin Elite Member

    1
    Jan 16, 2002
    Professional Status:
    Certified General Appraiser
    State:
    Virginia
    Yea, I do it all the time. I have a scanner with a feed tray and it scans them right in. Paperless office saves space but does take a little time.
     
  3. George W Dodd

    George W Dodd Senior Member

    0
    Jul 9, 2002
    Professional Status:
    Certified Residential Appraiser
    State:
    Virginia
    Austin,
    Mine scans one at a time instead of a stack at a time. Is your's able to do a stack at a time? How are you doing it?
     
  4. xmrdfghap

    xmrdfghap Senior Member

    0
    Jan 15, 2002
    Professional Status:
    General Public
    State:
    Florida
    George, what are scanning on? is it one of those all in one printer/copier/scanner/fax's or is it a dedicated scanner? Which model? I would imagine that if you don't have a handbook that gives you step by step ins ructions that you can get on online if you goggle the model and make. But each machine acts different so getting a handle on yours is going to be difficult. One thing you might be able to do is use your fax machine to fax it to your computer. Just get some fax software and load it on your computer, hook up the modem to your house line and fax from the business line. It's cheaper than buying a scanner, unless you need it for other things.
     
  5. George W Dodd

    George W Dodd Senior Member

    0
    Jul 9, 2002
    Professional Status:
    Certified Residential Appraiser
    State:
    Virginia
    Greg,

    It's a hp scanjet (scanner only) with the ADF. When I'm in the workfile section I can scan pages in but I have to press the scan button each time instead of being able to put a stack of pages on the scanner and pressing the scan button once (scan button in wintotal). My files are typically large 50 to 100 pages. I'm not sure if I'm doing something wrong with wintotal or if it's only able to scan one page at a time. I was hoping with the start of the new year to be able to go paperless, but if I have to scan each page individually then it will be very time consuming.

    BTW the suggestion on using the fax could be a good alternative. Thanks.
     
  6. xmrdfghap

    xmrdfghap Senior Member

    0
    Jan 15, 2002
    Professional Status:
    General Public
    State:
    Florida
    I see. Ok, I was not aware you were trying to do it from within ala mode. For that kind of help you may end up needing to call them.

    FWIW, we keep all documents in a file folder, but we use adobe as our primary printer and just print to pdf. The only things we scan are the hand sketches and handwritten notes. I have two legal sized reams of paper I bought two years ago that I have not opened yet.
     
  7. Ms. Janet

    Ms. Janet Elite Member
    Gold Supporting Member

    55
    Oct 27, 2004
    Professional Status:
    Certified Residential Appraiser
    State:
    Florida
    George,
    All you have to do is scan the whole file to your desktop and then browse when your in the workfile and add it. It doesnt take any extra time, its so easy even I can do it :)
     
  8. xmrdfghap

    xmrdfghap Senior Member

    0
    Jan 15, 2002
    Professional Status:
    General Public
    State:
    Florida
    Did you ever do commercials for GEICO?
     
  9. Ms. Janet

    Ms. Janet Elite Member
    Gold Supporting Member

    55
    Oct 27, 2004
    Professional Status:
    Certified Residential Appraiser
    State:
    Florida
    OMG, YES!!!! IT's ME!!! :rof: :rof: :rof:
     
  10. Austin

    Austin Elite Member

    1
    Jan 16, 2002
    Professional Status:
    Certified General Appraiser
    State:
    Virginia
    I have a DeskMate 510 scanner and I use Scansoft Paper Port 11 software. In the settings you can print a whole stack or one at the time and key each page to print. I do that sometimes when I want to see if it is printing OK. Check your software settings first. My settings are in paperport 11 and it works great.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page