1. Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premiere online community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

VA Loan and Repairs

Discussion in 'FHA/HUD and VA' started by womanvet2011, Apr 23, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. womanvet2011

womanvet2011 New Member

Jan 23, 2011
    Professional Status:
    General Public
    State:
    California
    Hello Members, This is my first time posting. I am a disabled woman veteran. I have never owned a home. I have been searching for over 18 months for a home that might qualify for what the realtor's have coined "VA Loanable". My question is this: will the VA Loan allow any repairs to the property? If there are $5,000.00 worth of repairs (dry rot, roof, etc), will any type of repairs kill the deal on a VA Loan? ~Woman Vet, Northern California

2. Don Clark

Don Clark Elite Member

Jan 17, 2002
    Professional Status:
    Certified Residential Appraiser
    State:
    Virginia
    First, thank you for your service:clapping:

VA has MPR's(Minimum Property Requirements). The MPR's are basically Safe, Sound and Sanitary. They are intended to protect the property that is to be used as collateral for the loan, and to protect you the Veteran from buying a property that may be unsafe, not sound, and not sanitary. This is also of course to protect your health as well as safety.

That said, with the market what it is today, in many parts of the country with excess inventory any seller should be willing to spend a few dollars to make sure you get a home that is safe, sound and sanitary. Repair requirements do not kill a deal, sellers might depending on the extent of the repairs. Make any contract you sign contingent on the property meeting the VA minimum property requirements, and if the seller is unwilling to make repairs, that all your money given as part of the contract be returned to you.

3. womanvet2011