Real Estate Appraisal Forum

appraisersforum.com logo
The Premiere Online Community for Real Estate Appraisers!
 Fastest Way to Find a Real Estate Appraiser Enter Zip Code:
 
 
Go Back   Appraisers Forum > Real Estate Appraisal Forums > Technical - Hardware/Software > a la mode (WinTotal)
Register Help Our Rules Calendar Archives Mark Forums Read


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 10-06-2006, 02:59 PM
Richard Goodfellow Richard Goodfellow is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
State: Vermont
Professional Status: Certified Residential Appraiser
Posts: 149
Default Application SF_Calc Error message

Twice now I have received the following error message in Athena. "The win 16 subsystem has insufficient resources to continue running. Click OK, Close your applications and restart your machine". I have never had this before. this is a newer Dell computer with plenty of speed and memory. Anyone know what this is about?
Sponsored Links

  #2  
Old 10-06-2006, 03:14 PM
JRS at OBX's Avatar
JRS at OBX JRS at OBX is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Outer Banks of NC (OBX)
State: North Carolina
Professional Status: Certified Residential Appraiser
Posts: 5,245
Default

Sounds like the computer is telling you to take the rest of the day off. Come to think of it, my computer seems to be telling me the same thing!!

Have a good weekend!!
  #3  
Old 10-07-2006, 01:20 PM
Michael Chu Michael Chu is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Johns Creek
State: Georgia
Professional Status: Certified Residential Appraiser
Posts: 567
Default Memory leak

Sounds like your PC is complaining about lack of memory resources.
If it does not correct itself after a reboot (problem is recurring) then it could mean you have a misbehavin' application that wants to hog your PC memory no matter how much you got.
An examination of running applications when the error pops would be revealing. The utility to use is called the "task manager" which shows you all the memory used by apps and running processes.

Usually, Athena is not a memory hog; but certain off-retail or shareware products could cause this also. Install any new software recently?

Recently, after installing the McAfee AV suite I was amazed at how much memory it required- like triple that usually runs AV software. Luckily I have a gig of RAM and it is not a problem, but if you have anything less, while using Windoz XP, you are already low in memory.

.
  #4  
Old 10-09-2006, 07:37 AM
Richard Goodfellow Richard Goodfellow is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
State: Vermont
Professional Status: Certified Residential Appraiser
Posts: 149
Default

I have over a gig of ram. When I open the task manager and look at the process there are so many things apparently running. this is after I close all applications. Not sure what they are. The problem occured when I tried to open my old software (SFREP). That program seems to require a lot of memory.
  #5  
Old 10-09-2006, 10:27 PM
jdbiggers's Avatar
jdbiggers jdbiggers is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Tucson, Arizona 85710
State: Arizona
Professional Status: Licensed Appraiser
Posts: 1,413
Default Sfrep

Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard Goodfellow
I have over a gig of ram. When I open the task manager and look at the process there are so many things apparently running. this is after I close all applications. Not sure what they are. The problem occured when I tried to open my old software (SFREP). That program seems to require a lot of memory.
16-bit programs will not properly report their true memory usage in Win2000-WinXP, etc. So it is difficult to tell if that is the problem. I do know that Athena and Aurora use an INCREDIBLE amount of memory, more so than you would think necessary for a forms program. Hence why I don't use them even though I paid for them. (I especially don't like that my computer has to make an out-bound coneection everytime I want to open a report on my computer...what's that about? It's nobody's business what appraisal files I open on my computer!)

But, I do know some of the viri and spyware out there often cause problems/ messages like this. You might want to do a full system scan. If you have Norton and it is not at least v10, go get one of the free batch cleaners from Grissoft (AVG), like vcleaner, and use this first. Every computer here I have with Norton or McAfee seem to be about as protected as not having any anti-virus at all...just pop-up blockers. But AVG seems VERY good.

Try that and see if that clears this.

JD
  #6  
Old 10-09-2006, 10:45 PM
Michael Chu Michael Chu is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Johns Creek
State: Georgia
Professional Status: Certified Residential Appraiser
Posts: 567
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Microsoft Windows Help
Most programs run properly on Windows XP. The exceptions are some older games and other programs that were written specifically for an earlier version of Windows. To run your program on Windows XP, try the following:

Right-click the program icon on your desktop or the shortcut on the Start menu for the program you want to run, and then click Properties.
Click the Compatibility tab, and change the compatibility settings for your program.
You can set the compatibility mode as far back as Win95


.
Sponsored Links

Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump




Copyright © 2000-, AppraisersForum.com, All Rights Reserved
     Terms of Use  Privacy Policy
AppraisersForum.com is proudly hosted by the folks at AppraiserSites.com

Fastest Way to Find a Real Estate Appraiser Enter Zip Code:
Partner Sites:
AppraiserUSA.com - National Appraiser Directory AllDomainsUSA.com - Domain Name Registration
DeadbeatListings.com - Deadbeat ListingsAppraiserSites.com - Web Hosting for the Professional Real Estate Appraiser
Find FHA Appraisers - FHA Appraiser Search Commercial Appraisers - Commercial Appraiser Search
Relocation Appraisal - Find Relocation Appraisers Domain Reseller - Business Opportunity
Home Security Buzz - Home Security Info Radon Testing - Radon Gas Info
My Medicare Forum - Medicare Info Stop Smoking Help - Help Quitting Smoking
CordlessPhoneStore.com - Great Cordless Phones AndroidTabletCity.com - Android Tablet Computers

Follow AppraisersForum.com:          Find us on Facebook            Follow us on Twitter


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:39 PM.

SiteMap: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93