Real Estate Appraisal Forum

appraisersforum.com logo
The Premiere Online Community for Real Estate Appraisers!
 Fastest Way to Find a Real Estate Appraiser Enter Zip Code:
 
 
Go Back   Appraisers Forum > Real Estate Appraisal Forums > Technical - Hardware/Software > a la mode (WinTotal)
Register Help Our Rules Calendar Archives Mark Forums Read


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 10-18-2006, 12:18 PM
Geoff Hatcher Geoff Hatcher is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Central Ohio
State: Ohio
Professional Status: Certified General Appraiser
Posts: 355
Default Anyone know an easy way to find yr built?

Does anyone know a way to list or find year built without having to open up the complete file? Submitting my log for my final SRA hours and dummy me have not noted age of property in my logbook. Under the appraisal desktop, year built is not a column option. The only way I can find it is to open each report and it is getting very time consuming.
Sponsored Links

  #2  
Old 10-19-2006, 06:01 PM
Workbox's Avatar
Workbox Workbox is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Rockies
State: Colorado
Professional Status: Certified Residential Appraiser
Posts: 7,827
Default

OK, I can not take it any more...........That is not an option on the column option. But I can see your dilemma. I have a similar issue with another vendor, but they are updating some of my request of similar daily appraisal practices. Just call Alamode to see if it is something they can just update or have it on their agenda. It does not sound irrational.
__________________
In the midst of movement and chaos, keep stillness inside of you.
  #3  
Old 10-20-2006, 07:19 AM
Richard Carlsen's Avatar
Richard Carlsen Richard Carlsen is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Tip of the Mitt: Northern Michigan
State: Michigan
Professional Status: Licensed Appraiser
Posts: 8,372
Default

Logging the year built must be a state-specific requirement because we do not need that in Michigan. In fact, I called the state and asked them if I could configure my a la mode printout to sort of match the state requirement for the log since I would be submitting about 2000 reports. They said certainly. No problem. Just note on the front what the printout is showing. Very cooperative.

You might want to see if you can do the same thing. You can modify the columns to proximate that of the log. Might be able to save a lot of time.
__________________
Now it's time to go fishing and ride the bike........
  #4  
Old 10-20-2006, 08:40 AM
Geoff Hatcher Geoff Hatcher is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Central Ohio
State: Ohio
Professional Status: Certified General Appraiser
Posts: 355
Default

This is not a state requirement, but the Appraisal Institute requires it for its experience log
  #5  
Old 10-20-2006, 10:36 AM
Scott Kibler's Avatar
Scott Kibler Scott Kibler is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chicago
State: Illinois
Professional Status: Certified Residential Appraiser
Posts: 5,351
Default

It would be awesome if there were some sort of database reporting tool ala Crystal Reports that we could use to extract whatever data field we desire and place into any report format we desire.

OK, I suppose with Crystal we could actually build new appraisal form reports thus doing away with the need for annual subscriptions.

Still, such a program screams for the need of better query/reporting tools than it has.
__________________
Everybody grab your torches and pitchforks!
  #6  
Old 10-20-2006, 05:34 PM
TEL2002's Avatar
TEL2002 TEL2002 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Louisiana
State: Louisiana
Professional Status: Retired Appraiser
Posts: 8,175
Default

How many reports are you talking about? A few or a ton or reports.

I think Al's got good advice, call alamode and ask. They just might be able to help out.
  #7  
Old 10-20-2006, 07:41 PM
Michael Chu Michael Chu is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Johns Creek
State: Georgia
Professional Status: Certified Residential Appraiser
Posts: 567
Default There is a way but...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff Hatcher
Does anyone know a way to list or find year built without having to open up the complete file? Submitting my log for my final SRA hours and dummy me have not noted age of property in my logbook. Under the appraisal desktop, year built is not a column option. The only way I can find it is to open each report and it is getting very time consuming.
I assume you are searching for the subjects 'year built'
Don't remember about Athena, but in Aurora, once you open a report and go to the COMPS view, comps database, there is a way you customize the data that display for the comps&subject. The field is labeled "Age Year Built"
Once you add it to the view list, all you need to do is edit the column layout and sort your list by the year built by clicking on the column header.

TADA!
  #8  
Old 10-20-2006, 08:01 PM
Rudy Canoza's Avatar
Rudy Canoza Rudy Canoza is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: California
State: California
Professional Status: Certified Residential Appraiser
Posts: 2,162
Default

You can find the year built by lifting the lid on the toilet tank...

/No. Wait. Nevermind...
  #9  
Old 10-20-2006, 09:40 PM
Robin McAfee Robin McAfee is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
State: Utah
Professional Status: Licensed Appraiser
Posts: 5
Default

From Wintotal, you can click on the tab on the bottom that says Order. Scroll down and you will see year built, parcel #, room count, etc.
  #10  
Old 10-21-2006, 12:10 AM
Michael Chu Michael Chu is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Johns Creek
State: Georgia
Professional Status: Certified Residential Appraiser
Posts: 567
Default Keep scrollin'?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robin McAfee
From Wintotal, you can click on the tab on the bottom that says Order. Scroll down and you will see year built, parcel #, room count, etc.
Too bad it is only available if you turn on the 'extended info' whatever CB.
Once the report is signed, you can't turn this on.
Even if the extended info is there, every time you click on a new line, you got to scroll down again to see year built.

I'd rather lift the toilet tank cover.
Sponsored Links

Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump




Copyright © 2000-, AppraisersForum.com, All Rights Reserved
     Terms of Use  Privacy Policy
AppraisersForum.com is proudly hosted by the folks at AppraiserSites.com

Fastest Way to Find a Real Estate Appraiser Enter Zip Code:
Partner Sites:
AppraiserUSA.com - National Appraiser Directory AllDomainsUSA.com - Domain Name Registration
DeadbeatListings.com - Deadbeat ListingsAppraiserSites.com - Web Hosting for the Professional Real Estate Appraiser
Find FHA Appraisers - FHA Appraiser Search Commercial Appraisers - Commercial Appraiser Search
Relocation Appraisal - Find Relocation Appraisers Domain Reseller - Business Opportunity
Home Security Buzz - Home Security Info Radon Testing - Radon Gas Info
My Medicare Forum - Medicare Info Stop Smoking Help - Help Quitting Smoking
CordlessPhoneStore.com - Great Cordless Phones AndroidTabletCity.com - Android Tablet Computers

Follow AppraisersForum.com:          Find us on Facebook            Follow us on Twitter


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38 AM.

SiteMap: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93