Real Estate Appraisal Forum

appraisersforum.com logo
The Premiere Online Community for Real Estate Appraisers!
 Fastest Way to Find a Real Estate Appraiser Enter Zip Code:
 
 
Go Back   Appraisers Forum > Real Estate Appraisal Forums > Technical - Hardware/Software > a la mode (WinTotal)
Register Help Our Rules Calendar Archives Mark Forums Read


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 01-01-2007, 03:19 PM
George W Dodd's Avatar
George W Dodd George W Dodd is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Mechanicsville, VA
State: Virginia
Professional Status: Certified Residential Appraiser
Posts: 1,507
Default Scan documents into the workfile

I have a scanner that has ADF but I haven't found a way to scan multiple documents into the work-file except by individual scans.
I'd like to be able to just set the stack of paper I want scanned, press the button, and let it scan all the pages. Has anyone figured out a way to take advantage of the ADF?

Thanks
__________________
Energy and persistence conquer all things.
Sponsored Links

  #2  
Old 01-01-2007, 03:51 PM
Austin Austin is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Blairs, Virginia
State: Virginia
Professional Status: Certified General Appraiser
Posts: 5,020
Default

Yea, I do it all the time. I have a scanner with a feed tray and it scans them right in. Paperless office saves space but does take a little time.
  #3  
Old 01-01-2007, 06:56 PM
George W Dodd's Avatar
George W Dodd George W Dodd is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Mechanicsville, VA
State: Virginia
Professional Status: Certified Residential Appraiser
Posts: 1,507
Default

Austin,
Mine scans one at a time instead of a stack at a time. Is your's able to do a stack at a time? How are you doing it?
__________________
Energy and persistence conquer all things.
  #4  
Old 01-01-2007, 07:07 PM
xmrdfghap xmrdfghap is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
State: Florida
Professional Status: General Public
Posts: 4,277
Default

George, what are scanning on? is it one of those all in one printer/copier/scanner/fax's or is it a dedicated scanner? Which model? I would imagine that if you don't have a handbook that gives you step by step ins ructions that you can get on online if you goggle the model and make. But each machine acts different so getting a handle on yours is going to be difficult. One thing you might be able to do is use your fax machine to fax it to your computer. Just get some fax software and load it on your computer, hook up the modem to your house line and fax from the business line. It's cheaper than buying a scanner, unless you need it for other things.
  #5  
Old 01-01-2007, 07:29 PM
George W Dodd's Avatar
George W Dodd George W Dodd is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Mechanicsville, VA
State: Virginia
Professional Status: Certified Residential Appraiser
Posts: 1,507
Default

Greg,

It's a hp scanjet (scanner only) with the ADF. When I'm in the workfile section I can scan pages in but I have to press the scan button each time instead of being able to put a stack of pages on the scanner and pressing the scan button once (scan button in wintotal). My files are typically large 50 to 100 pages. I'm not sure if I'm doing something wrong with wintotal or if it's only able to scan one page at a time. I was hoping with the start of the new year to be able to go paperless, but if I have to scan each page individually then it will be very time consuming.

BTW the suggestion on using the fax could be a good alternative. Thanks.
__________________
Energy and persistence conquer all things.
  #6  
Old 01-01-2007, 07:38 PM
xmrdfghap xmrdfghap is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
State: Florida
Professional Status: General Public
Posts: 4,277
Default

I see. Ok, I was not aware you were trying to do it from within ala mode. For that kind of help you may end up needing to call them.

FWIW, we keep all documents in a file folder, but we use adobe as our primary printer and just print to pdf. The only things we scan are the hand sketches and handwritten notes. I have two legal sized reams of paper I bought two years ago that I have not opened yet.
  #7  
Old 01-01-2007, 07:47 PM
Ms. Janet's Avatar
Ms. Janet Ms. Janet is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: La La Land
State: Florida
Professional Status: Certified Residential Appraiser
Posts: 5,702
Default

George,
All you have to do is scan the whole file to your desktop and then browse when your in the workfile and add it. It doesnt take any extra time, its so easy even I can do it
__________________
"Of Course I'm An ORGAN DONOR...Who Wouldn't Want A Piece Of This?"
  #8  
Old 01-01-2007, 07:49 PM
xmrdfghap xmrdfghap is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
State: Florida
Professional Status: General Public
Posts: 4,277
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by janet rabin
......... its so easy even I can do it
Did you ever do commercials for GEICO?
  #9  
Old 01-01-2007, 07:51 PM
Ms. Janet's Avatar
Ms. Janet Ms. Janet is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: La La Land
State: Florida
Professional Status: Certified Residential Appraiser
Posts: 5,702
Default

OMG, YES!!!! IT's ME!!!
__________________
"Of Course I'm An ORGAN DONOR...Who Wouldn't Want A Piece Of This?"
  #10  
Old 01-01-2007, 09:04 PM
Austin Austin is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Blairs, Virginia
State: Virginia
Professional Status: Certified General Appraiser
Posts: 5,020
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by George W Dodd
Austin,
Mine scans one at a time instead of a stack at a time. Is your's able to do a stack at a time? How are you doing it?
I have a DeskMate 510 scanner and I use Scansoft Paper Port 11 software. In the settings you can print a whole stack or one at the time and key each page to print. I do that sometimes when I want to see if it is printing OK. Check your software settings first. My settings are in paperport 11 and it works great.
Sponsored Links

Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump




Copyright © 2000-, AppraisersForum.com, All Rights Reserved
     Terms of Use  Privacy Policy
AppraisersForum.com is proudly hosted by the folks at AppraiserSites.com

Fastest Way to Find a Real Estate Appraiser Enter Zip Code:
Partner Sites:
AppraiserUSA.com - National Appraiser Directory AllDomainsUSA.com - Domain Name Registration
DeadbeatListings.com - Deadbeat ListingsAppraiserSites.com - Web Hosting for the Professional Real Estate Appraiser
Find FHA Appraisers - FHA Appraiser Search Commercial Appraisers - Commercial Appraiser Search
Relocation Appraisal - Find Relocation Appraisers Domain Reseller - Business Opportunity
Home Security Buzz - Home Security Info Radon Testing - Radon Gas Info
My Medicare Forum - Medicare Info Stop Smoking Help - Help Quitting Smoking
CordlessPhoneStore.com - Great Cordless Phones AndroidTabletCity.com - Android Tablet Computers

Follow AppraisersForum.com:          Find us on Facebook            Follow us on Twitter


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:35 AM.

SiteMap: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93