Real Estate Appraisal Forum

appraisersforum.com logo
The Premiere Online Community for Real Estate Appraisers!
 Fastest Way to Find a Real Estate Appraiser Enter Zip Code:

Go Back   Appraisers Forum > Real Estate Appraisal Forums > Commercial/Industrial Appraisals
Register Help Our Rules Calendar Archives Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread

Old 01-20-2007, 04:23 PM
matt hawk

Default Historic Grist Mill

I have an order to appraise thirteen acres with an old grist mill that supposedly has historical significance. It's is in the back of the property, accessable only by a very rough and wet dirt road. Had to actually put the ole jeep in 4WD. The owner thinks it at least has some salvage value. His estimate was about $30,000, but it's only 4800 sf standing up and it has definatly fallen down. I'm not knowledgable about estimating the value of old timbers, but I am an amatuer woodworker and I don't see much more than a few hundred board feet of $4 wood, plus the cost to demo and transport. Anyone have any advice or experience on "historical" appraisals?
Sponsored Links

Old 01-20-2007, 05:21 PM

State: Illinois
Professional Status: Gvmt Agency, FNMA, HUD, VA etc.

If its so significant maybe they'll move it to a more prominent site or create an access to it. The question is, to whom is this mill significant?

Is it personally significant to the owner?
Locally significant to the town, county, state?
Or is it on the National Register of historic places?
Old 01-20-2007, 08:34 PM

State: Indiana
Professional Status: General Public

The big items are the stone wheels and the drive system.
Old 01-20-2007, 10:35 PM

State: Pennsylvania
Professional Status: Certified Residential Appraiser

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Shuee
The big items are the stone wheels and the drive system.