Real Estate Appraisal Forum

appraisersforum.com logo
The Premiere Online Community for Real Estate Appraisers!
 Fastest Way to Find a Real Estate Appraiser Enter Zip Code:

Go Back   Appraisers Forum > Real Estate Appraisal Forums > Commercial/Industrial Appraisals
Register Help Our Rules Calendar Archives Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread

Old 10-16-2007, 11:39 AM

State: Virginia
Professional Status: Certified General Appraiser
Default Partial takings and easement valuations

I brought this up two years ago and got one response, so I'm going to try again....

I've been doing appraisals for well over three decades, and eminent domain or litigation valuations have accounted for a third to a half of all work over the years. But I'd like to hear from other folks WRT valuation of easements, such as the utility (both overhead and undergound) and drainage easements that often accompany road widenings - typically a 5 or 10' wide strip adjoining the existing right-of-way or the new acquisition line. Now in almost every instance, these easements fall within a specified setback area as required by zoning, meaning that this area cannot be built upon - only improved with signs, landscaping, parking, driveways and the like - improvements relatively unaffected by what's overhead or underground.

I'm a firm believer in the old axiom "value is use and use is value." Whenever the utility of a property is limited or reduced, then so is its market value. But I'd like to hear from others about valuing easements within areas where zoning setbacks already limit the land's use somewhat.

Cheers
Sponsored Links

Old 10-16-2007, 12:22 PM

State: New Mexico

Quote:
Originally Posted by A. P. Grice View Post
I brought this up two years ago and got one response, so I'm going to try again....