Real Estate Appraisal Forum

appraisersforum.com logo
The Premiere Online Community for Real Estate Appraisers!
 Fastest Way to Find a Real Estate Appraiser Enter Zip Code:

Go Back   Appraisers Forum > Real Estate Appraisal Forums > General Appraisal Discussion
Register Help Our Rules Calendar Archives Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread

Old 10-12-2010, 06:25 PM

State: North Carolina
Professional Status: Licensed Appraiser
Default Right of Way Appraiser's for the State

I am wondering if anyone is a right of way appraiser for the state? I was recently asked to consider a job for the state as a right of way appraiser. I currently work as a subcontractor with a fair fee split. However, with lower fees and AMC's it makes me consider an alternative like a steady pay check with benefits and paid vacation time. Anyway just curious if anyone knows anything about this. Thanks for any input.
Sponsored Links

Old 10-12-2010, 07:10 PM

State: New Jersey
Professional Status: Licensed Appraiser

If the job was in New Jersey I'd apply.
Old 10-12-2010, 07:35 PM

State: North Carolina
Professional Status: Certified Residential Appraiser

At one time it was a way to enter and learn the business simultaneously, now it may be an ever better way considering the economy, the RE market, etc., the state benefits would also be a plus. I know 3 appraisers who started doing ROW work with the state and later went private. There are probably some in here who will read this thread who also worked for the state. Maybe they will chime in.
Old 10-12-2010, 07:49 PM

State: Maryland