Real Estate Appraisal Forum

appraisersforum.com logo
The Premiere Online Community for Real Estate Appraisers!
 Fastest Way to Find a Real Estate Appraiser Enter Zip Code:

Go Back   Appraisers Forum > Real Estate Appraisal Forums > General Appraisal Discussion
Register Help Our Rules Calendar Archives Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread

Old 10-14-2010, 11:20 PM

State: California
Professional Status: Certified Residential Appraiser
Default Odd Request From Borrower

I contacted a borrower today to set an appointment who is also the main contact for access provided by my lender/client. The borrower starts to ask me questions about my qualifications, no problem, so I answer his questions, I've been appraising for 23 years, blah, blah, blah. The borrower then let's me know before he will be willing to set an appt he needs to see my resume and qualifications before moving forward and setting an appt. He wants to approve me in a sense before he let's me do his appraisal. He says something to the effect this is probably a common request and I told him no, never in 23 years have I had a borrower, where the lender is my client, attempt to approve me before moving forward with the appraisal. I politely side stepped his request for my qualifications, some of which I provided over the phone. I have a message into the lender about the borrowers request through AppraisalPort, which is how they prefer appraisal issues addressed so it is documented with the file, and have yet to hear back from them. Off hand I am not sure why I shouldn't provide my qualifications to the lenders borrower prior to performing an appraisal, but it somehow seems wrong. Plus, I was a little put off that the borrower acted as though it was his right to approve me as though he gets to choose his appraiser. He says he'll call me back tomorrow to set an appt, I'm not holding my breath.

Has anyone else been in this situation? If so, how did you handle it?