Real Estate Appraisal Forum

appraisersforum.com logo
The Premiere Online Community for Real Estate Appraisers!
 Fastest Way to Find a Real Estate Appraiser Enter Zip Code:

Go Back   Appraisers Forum > Other Forums > Ask an Appraiser
Register Help Our Rules Calendar Archives Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread

Old 02-01-2011, 09:58 AM

State: Virginia
Professional Status: Real Estate Agent or Broker
Question Understanding comp adjustments

Hi,

My Name is Nate Pickles I am a Real Estate agent in Va.

I have a question for an educated, humble, passionate appraiser or someone with knowledge of the appraisal process.

Please forgive me if I am asking a question that's already been answered on this form. I searched the site the best I could and couldn't find this topic or any good explanation.

First and for most I am very aware that appraisals are very complex and that there is no truly accurate "list" of adjustments. However I am certain that appraisers have to have some sort of foundation or base to go off of. Again I am aware that comps are effected from area to area and by many other deciding factors. However I am asking for a "generalization" where it's not possible in some appraisers eyes.

Please forgive my disclaimer I am simply trying to avoid the arrogant people who respond with WAY to general of information never answering the question simply making it more difficult to understand without ever even coming close to answer the questions.

OK so here goes the question.

When an appraiser is making adjustments to comps what are some baseline numbers or percentages that they use for making adjustments?

EXAMPLES of what I am looking for
Bedroom Adjustments
Bathroom Adjustments
Garage Adjustments
Pool Adjustments
Fireplace Adjustments
Fence Adjustments
Yard size adjustments
Year build adjustments
Etc, Etc, Etc