Real Estate Appraisal Forum

appraisersforum.com logo
The Premiere Online Community for Real Estate Appraisers!
 Fastest Way to Find a Real Estate Appraiser Enter Zip Code:

Go Back   Appraisers Forum > Real Estate Appraisal Forums > General Appraisal Discussion
Register Help Our Rules Calendar Archives Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread

Old 06-23-2011, 11:42 AM

State: Michigan
Professional Status: Certified General Appraiser
Default Why do residential appraisers?

Why do residential appraisers always write reports in third person. Example (from another thread): The appraiser viewed the area stated to be where the septic system and leach field was contained and noted no signs of malfunction. The appraiser is not an expert in on site waste water systems and if further assurance of this private utility is required, it is strongly recommended that an expert's opinion be sought.

My reports are written in the first person. I viewed the area.....I am not an expert.....I inspected the attic.....I researched sales...

Old 06-23-2011, 11:48 AM

State: Vermont
Professional Status: Certified Residential Appraiser

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michigan CG View Post
Why do residential appraisers always write reports in third person. Example (from another thread): The appraiser viewed the area stated to be where the septic system and leach field was contained and noted no signs of malfunction. The appraiser is not an expert in on site waste water systems and if further assurance of this private utility is required, it is strongly recommended that an expert's opinion be sought.

My reports are written in the first person. I viewed the area.....I am not an expert.....I inspected the attic.....I researched sales...
Don't know exactly....but that was the way I was taught.

I'll be interested to hear some answers, cuz I don't have a good reason.
Old 06-23-2011, 11:52 AM

State: California

I've gone back and forth on that over the years.