Real Estate Appraisal Forum

appraisersforum.com logo
The Premiere Online Community for Real Estate Appraisers!
 Fastest Way to Find a Real Estate Appraiser Enter Zip Code:

Go Back   Appraisers Forum > Real Estate Appraisal Forums > General Appraisal Discussion
Register Help Our Rules Calendar Archives Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread

Old 07-01-2011, 04:47 PM

State: Florida
Professional Status: Certified Residential Appraiser
Default Anybody appraised a timeshare before?

I received a call from an out of town attorney today asking if I would be interested in appraising a timeshare in Hollywood Beach FL. I informed her that I have ZERO experience appraising timeshares, but she asked again if I would be interested. I really would because I would love to add that to my appraisal experience. I told her that I would get back to her about this in an hour or so after I contacted a few other appraisers that I know in the area to see if they have ever appraised timeshares. I figured that I need somebody to show me how it's done, and I give them 1/2 the fee or more so that I can get the experience, then disclose it in the report. None of my other appraiser friends had experience in this either. So I am wondering, is a residential appraiser qualified for time shares? Or is this something that requires a designation or a general appraiser? Any advice would be appreciated.
Oh, I did call back, and got voicemail. So for all I know, she may have found somebody already. But this is the same for any unusual order that I may come across. I've turned down some orders in the past because they were out of my league, but lets just say, I want to know the correct procedure to put them "in my league".
Sponsored Links

Old 07-01-2011, 05:15 PM

Professional Status: Certified General Appraiser