Real Estate Appraisal Forum

appraisersforum.com logo
The Premiere Online Community for Real Estate Appraisers!
 Fastest Way to Find a Real Estate Appraiser Enter Zip Code:

Go Back   Appraisers Forum > Other Forums > Newbies/Appraiser WannaBe
Register Help Our Rules Calendar Archives Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread

Old 09-19-2012, 10:26 PM

State: Illinois
Professional Status: General Public
Default Current state of appraisal industry/profession

Hi Everyone,

I am new to this forum. I am a professional woman who has worked in another field for more than 25 years and am exploring other options these days - primarily, a profession that I can continue doing should I move to a more rural/smaller city and do part time eventually when I am older. I have been reading a lot of threads here stating that the appraisal profession is oversaturated and underappreciated. I hold a Masters degree in another field and have spoken to an appraiser who teaches the various courses here in Chicago and he believes I would have no problem becoming an appraiser and could make a good living. He also told me that it's a low stress job.