Real Estate Appraisal Forum

appraisersforum.com logo
The Premiere Online Community for Real Estate Appraisers!
 Fastest Way to Find a Real Estate Appraiser Enter Zip Code:

Go Back   Appraisers Forum > Real Estate Appraisal Forums > Marketing
Register Help Our Rules Calendar Archives Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread

Old 06-14-2004, 06:42 PM

State: North Carolina
Professional Status: Appraiser Trainee

I am a trainee with some residential appraisal experience. I have done 50 appraisals. I need a good resume to help interest additional appraisal companies to let me do some work for them. If anyone out there would send me a sample resume that would be a great help. Thanks Ron
Sponsored Links

Old 06-14-2004, 07:05 PM

State: Louisiana
Professional Status: Retired Appraiser

Ron,

I don't mean to sound harsh, but if you can not do research & write your own resume, how can you write an extensive addendum and do all of the research for the appraisal.

Go to the local book store...they probably have several good books on various resume styles/designs/formats.

Write down everything you have accomplished in your work and education life. Initially no details are too small. Categorize all of these facts into a half dozen categories. Begin to write your resume. After you have a draft, ask 6-7 people to read it and make constructive criticisms. Rewrite the resume. Have several people look at it again. Rewrite it again.

Remember to use ACTIVE verbs throughout the resume. (RECEIVED three letters of thanks from clients while working for the Jones Company. COMPLETED three drawings in one hour, instead of the required two drawings.) Forget about listing various job titles, talk about what you actually accomplished.

Allow a maximum of 1 typewritten page per 10 years of experience. Never have a resume longer than two pages (unless you are Einstein or somebody really special).