Real Estate Appraisal Forum

appraisersforum.com logo
The Premiere Online Community for Real Estate Appraisers!
 Fastest Way to Find a Real Estate Appraiser Enter Zip Code:

Go Back   Appraisers Forum > Real Estate Appraisal Forums > General Appraisal Discussion
Register Help Our Rules Calendar Archives Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread

Old 09-16-2004, 04:32 PM

Just wanted to know what was you guy’s & gal’s take on the Home Inspection Profession vs. Real Estate Appraisal Profession, the volume of work in the market at this moment, future forecast, etc. What make it increase, decrease, what are the advantages and disadvantages, your thoughts in general.
Thank you.
Sponsored Links

Old 09-16-2004, 04:47 PM

Jose

I'm no expert, so I will give you my take.

Apprasing deals with valuation, mild economics, nieghborhoods, etc. Home inspection deals with indepth technical inspection of the home.

The markets are different. Appraisers deal with the lending side. Home inspectors deal with the borrowers.

Money is probably near the same if the business is there, because while the home inspector doesn't do any outside the home research, he can spend several hours inside his subject. The appraiser will spend than one hour, but will do a lot of outside research.

Future. Tough one. The future of appraising is secure, but many will fall to the wayside because the field is changing so much that many will not be able to keep up and because of technology may need fewer appraisers in the future. They will be requred to know more than the current generation of appraisers. Many have ready, left. Home inspection is being encouraged more and more by agents who want less liability on them and more disclosure by the homeowners. This is a growing field, but a lot of the people that come into this are ex-contractors that have experience in building.

Hope this helps
Old 09-16-2004, 05:37 PM

State: New Jersey
Professional Status: Certified Residential Appraiser