Real Estate Appraisal Forum

appraisersforum.com logo
The Premiere Online Community for Real Estate Appraisers!
 Fastest Way to Find a Real Estate Appraiser Enter Zip Code:

Go Back   Appraisers Forum > Real Estate Appraisal Forums > Technical - Hardware/Software > a la mode (WinTotal)
Register Help Our Rules Calendar Archives Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread

Old 05-22-2005, 08:50 AM

My forum assistant is not searching for some reason. It just gives me a return that says the topic I am interested in is not being dicussed today. So here's the discussion.

I have been using Wintotal for several years and I rank the comps the way Wintotal does when the sort comps radio button in the comps power window is pressed. I have been using the cavalier thinking that if I have chosen the correct comps and inserted the correct adjustments that the machine should tell me which comp is most like the subject and what the value is.

Now, I have followed the discussion on here about those instruments of the devil, the rapidly becoming ubiquitous AVM, but it became necessary the other day for me to consult USPAP on the issue of AVM. I looked at AO 18. I'll be glad to look elsewhere, but that one seems to address the USPAP pitfalls of AVM-ing.

Seems in nutshell we should:
1. Understand how the AVM works.
2. Use it properly.
3. Determine if the AVM and the data it uses are appropriate for the intended use.
4. Be able to determine whether the output is credible.
5. Determine if the output is reliable.

If sorting cmps and value of the subject in Wintotal is an AVM, I am failing USPAP-again.