Real Estate Appraisal Forum

appraisersforum.com logo
The Premiere Online Community for Real Estate Appraisers!
 Fastest Way to Find a Real Estate Appraiser Enter Zip Code:
 
 
Go Back   Appraisers Forum > Real Estate Appraisal Forums > Technical - Hardware/Software > a la mode (WinTotal)
Register Help Our Rules Calendar Archives Mark Forums Read


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 05-24-2005, 06:58 AM
john marcinik john marcinik is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Deale, Maryland
State: Maryland
Professional Status: Certified Residential Appraiser
Posts: 85
Default

I'm having problems with old apex.
I have to constantly hit save or F2 to not lose data.
This is especially true when I clone a report.
Anyone else having problems?
Of course you must realize I'm a cheap +++++ and won't upgrade to Apex 3.

Thanks
Sponsored Links

  #2  
Old 05-24-2005, 07:30 AM
Joker's Avatar
Joker Joker is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Hicksville, Appalachia
State: Ohio
Professional Status: Certified General Appraiser
Posts: 6,070
Default

I've had that problem. I did upgrade to Apex 3, but tried Apex 2 first (apparently I paid for it a few years back but didn't know it). After using Apex 2, I switched back to Winsketch. I've never had a problem with it and can sketch in half the time with Winsketch vs. Apex. I don't even wanna think about Apex 3.
__________________
I don't need no stinkin' signature line.
  #3  
Old 05-24-2005, 10:08 AM
Scott Kibler's Avatar
Scott Kibler Scott Kibler is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chicago
State: Illinois
Professional Status: Certified Residential Appraiser
Posts: 5,366
Default

:lol: I knew Joker was jealous of me.

I noticed an issue too.

If I complete a sketch and save, then go back to edit it later, the changes don't want to transfer to the report. I found exiting out of wintotal then going back in and opening the file usually works.

I figured this was part of the upcoming incompatibility issue that Alamode was talking about when they rolled out Apex 3.0. I assume it will become worse when Aurora hits the streets

Having made a public stink about Apex 3.0 some months ago, a wierd sense of pride is keeping me from upgrading...just yet.
__________________
Everybody grab your torches and pitchforks!
  #4  
Old 05-24-2005, 10:26 AM
Joker's Avatar
Joker Joker is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Hicksville, Appalachia
State: Ohio
Professional Status: Certified General Appraiser
Posts: 6,070
Default

You're my idol, skibs. I wanna be just like you when I grow up.
__________________
I don't need no stinkin' signature line.
  #5  
Old 05-24-2005, 11:21 AM
Jim Bearden Jim Bearden is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Denver
State: Colorado
Professional Status: Certified General Appraiser
Posts: 723
Default

It is amazing what a call to ala mode will reveal.
  #6  
Old 05-25-2005, 09:00 AM
john marcinik john marcinik is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Deale, Maryland
State: Maryland
Professional Status: Certified Residential Appraiser
Posts: 85
Default

thanks Scott.
  #7  
Old 05-26-2005, 03:15 PM
john marcinik john marcinik is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Deale, Maryland
State: Maryland
Professional Status: Certified Residential Appraiser
Posts: 85
Default

Ala mode told me that when they figure it out they will send out an update.
There is a problem with microsoft updates and Apex.
  #8  
Old 05-26-2005, 03:34 PM
Proactive's Avatar
Proactive Proactive is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
State: Washington
Professional Status: Certified Residential Appraiser
Posts: 1,183
Default

This is what ala mode tech support told me as well. I have had the same problem (using Apex IV) since the first week in April.

I am considering biting the bullet and upgrading to Apex 3.0. There is a $100 off coupon that ala mode has out (good through this Friday) that would help soften the blow.

Is anyone using Apex 3.0 having this same sketch saving issue? I'd hate to upgrade only to continue to have the same problem...
  #9  
Old 05-26-2005, 07:44 PM
john marcinik john marcinik is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Deale, Maryland
State: Maryland
Professional Status: Certified Residential Appraiser
Posts: 85
Default

The Tech told me the same problem applies with Apex 3.0.
I don't know for sure. I don't have it.
  #10  
Old 06-08-2005, 10:00 AM
Robert Smoote Robert Smoote is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Antonio, TX
State: Texas
Professional Status: IT Professional-Appraisal Related
Posts: 396
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by john marcinik@May 26 2005, 03:15 PM
Ala mode told me that when they figure it out they will send out an update.
There is a problem with microsoft updates and Apex.
Good Morning All:

First of all, thank you for posting. While it's no fun reading about problems our software is having/causing/etc. - it's extremely helpful in pointing us in the right direction for improvement.

Second, I apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you.

Yes, there was a problem with integration opf Apex v2.x and WinTotal which happens with a Critical Update in the XP OS (May time frame). The latest on this was we were finally able to duplicate this problem on our end and preliminary testing shows that this problem appears to be resolved.

However, if this continue to be a problem for you, a simple work-around would be to manually Save the file and then close Apex before going back to WinTotal.

Unfortunately, with the v2.x product being as "old" as it is now (4+ years) it becomes more vulnerable to the everchanging Operating System environments and new technologies.

BTW - This problem does not exist in Apex v3, which was written with the latest tools designed to address recent and current environments.

Hope this helps! Please continue to let us knwo about any problems you are experiencing with our software. Chances are, others are having problems too and it gives us the feedback necessary to correct them.

Have a great day!
Sponsored Links

Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump




Copyright © 2000-, AppraisersForum.com, All Rights Reserved
     Terms of Use  Privacy Policy
AppraisersForum.com is proudly hosted by the folks at AppraiserSites.com

Fastest Way to Find a Real Estate Appraiser Enter Zip Code:
Partner Sites:
AppraiserUSA.com - National Appraiser Directory AllDomainsUSA.com - Domain Name Registration
DeadbeatListings.com - Deadbeat ListingsAppraiserSites.com - Web Hosting for the Professional Real Estate Appraiser
Find FHA Appraisers - FHA Appraiser Search Commercial Appraisers - Commercial Appraiser Search
Relocation Appraisal - Find Relocation Appraisers Domain Reseller - Business Opportunity
Home Security Buzz - Home Security Info Radon Testing - Radon Gas Info
My Medicare Forum - Medicare Info Stop Smoking Help - Help Quitting Smoking
CordlessPhoneStore.com - Great Cordless Phones AndroidTabletCity.com - Android Tablet Computers

Follow AppraisersForum.com:          Find us on Facebook            Follow us on Twitter


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:57 AM.

SiteMap: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93