Real Estate Appraisal Forum

appraisersforum.com logo
The Premiere Online Community for Real Estate Appraisers!
 Fastest Way to Find a Real Estate Appraiser Enter Zip Code:
 
 
Go Back   Appraisers Forum > Real Estate Appraisal Forums > Technical - Hardware/Software > a la mode (WinTotal)
Register Help Our Rules Calendar Archives Mark Forums Read


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 06-16-2005, 05:48 PM
Benjamin Singleton Benjamin Singleton is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
State: Texas
Professional Status: Certified General Appraiser
Posts: 333
Default

If you simply copy the whole "Win2000" folder to an external hard drive, you've just backed up everything involving Wintotal? Does anyone see a flaw in doing this, or are there other folders you should back up?

.....never wanted to pay for "Vault".
Sponsored Links

  #2  
Old 06-16-2005, 10:31 PM
MS Rebel's Avatar
MS Rebel MS Rebel is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Jackson, Mississippi
State: Mississippi
Professional Status: Certified Residential Appraiser
Posts: 1,865
Default

When I researched backing up - Wintotal suggested the entire thing be backed up. So when I bought my new computer, I bought the dvd writer and now can back up the entire program .... plus a lot more.

It's better than paying the vault. However, it is better to keep a copy in another place in case of fire, theft or something like that.

Rhonda
__________________
The goal of socialism is communism. Vladimir Lenin
  #3  
Old 06-22-2005, 06:36 PM
Rick Neighbors's Avatar
Rick Neighbors Rick Neighbors is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Keene, Texas
State: Texas
Professional Status: Certified Residential Appraiser
Posts: 1,066
Default

I tried the vault system, for a while, but my dial up internet connection was way too slow!

So now, I burn CD's, and take them to my safe deposit box at my local bank. My box is full of CD's now.

I now have wireless internet, so I may try the vault again, if I can justify the added cost.

Rick
  #4  
Old 06-23-2005, 11:34 AM
Mister Ed's Avatar
Mister Ed Mister Ed is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Middle Georgia
State: Georgia
Professional Status: Certified Residential Appraiser
Posts: 3,432
Default

Benjamin,

When we bought a new server, we contacted wintotal about the best way to install and copy data to the new server.

They said (in summary) to connect the old server to the new server on the fastest network connection we could get going and start the process. 2.5 years of reports, photos, etc took about 16 hours to fully copy.

That knowledge is for what it is worth to you. It comes with no guarantees.

-ed-
__________________
If crime doesn't pay...
Is working for an AMC a crime?
  #5  
Old 01-18-2007, 12:48 AM
Brian P Kennedy Brian P Kennedy is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
State: Rhode Island
Professional Status: Certified Residential Appraiser
Posts: 7
Default

I am using Alamode Athena Wintotal and bought an external hard drive 60 gb Maxtor mini drive. I copied the files for everything Wintotal Alamode and now am trying to set up a new laptop. I have the software for Alamode on my new notebook computer,but can't figure out how to to now open and bring my backed up files back off the external hard drive and now onto my new computer. Any ideas, since I did a search of the Alamode site and didn't find alot of suggestions or ideas other than to buy the vault and exact.
  #6  
Old 01-19-2007, 02:46 PM
John Sokol John Sokol is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Tri-Cities, WA.
State: Washington
Professional Status: Certified Residential Appraiser
Posts: 11
Default

Brian, I am just thinking outloud here. But if you want to use the backup up files on your Maxtor drive, you might need to install the software that came with the external drive on the new laptop and then network or connect to the external drive and then run through the restore process. One thought, Why dont you just connect the laptop to the computer with orininal Wintotal files and than just copy the files that way? Could be a little quicker, just a thought since I dont know how you have things configured.

Good Luck!
  #7  
Old 01-19-2007, 04:16 PM
xmrdfghap xmrdfghap is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
State: Florida
Professional Status: General Public
Posts: 4,277
Default

We have multiple backups. Although we don't use ala mode, we do use adobe. All research is printed to pdf and all photos, research, maps, clickform files, etc are kept in the file.

Our computer set up is three notebooks and a desktop. They are set up on a wireless network and our internet is through Hughes.net. All our computers communicate with each other. We use one printer, a cheap Canon, for the rare hard copy we need to print. Usually we have to install new cartridges as they tend to dry out between printing. The Desktop has a DVD RW and two large (200 gig) hard drives.

We then run "Karen Replicator" a couple of times a day. (http://www.karenware.com/powertools/powertools.asp) This shareware allows you to preset a time where data is cloned from one computer to the next. So twice a day each of the notebooks are copied back and forth. (My notebook copies to Annemieke's, then Annemieke's copies back to mine) One that is accomplished, Annemieke's will copy to the other notebook, mine will copy to the E drive. Once those are finished, the E drive copies to the C drive around midnight.

This provides 5 duplicate files on site. Around midnight, we do an FTP to an off site (we rented space from godaddy...about 100 Gigs for around $60 a year.) 2004 total files were about 2 Gig. 2005 total files were about 4 Gig. 2006 total files were close to 8 gig. Assuming we continue to grow in that manner, we can expect 2007 to be 16 gig, 2008 at 32 gig......at that point 2004 will be deleted. And if we have to have more space than that, it is relatively cheap and easy to add.

Karen Replicator, unlike windows explorer, will overwrite, automatically, if the file is newer and has the same name. Only files in the YTD folder are FTP'd to the server, and only files that are complete are put in the YTD folder.

In short, our file structure is c:/2007 with all of the active files in this folder. Competed files are put into C:/2007 YTD folder. C:/2007 is transfered between notebooks and the E drive of the desktop. C:/2007 YTD files are transfered to all notebooks and C and E drives on the desktop and are FTP'd to the remote server. As all this is done automatically, it is all done in the background and does not take more than one or two minutes of our time two or three times a week. But that gives us 5 copies on site and one copy off site.

When the Terrabyte hard drives come out, we may rethink the off site server.......
  #8  
Old 01-19-2007, 05:40 PM
Anthem's Avatar
Anthem Anthem is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Race City, NC
State: North Carolina
Professional Status: Certified Residential Appraiser
Posts: 1,215
Default

I back up the entire folder and use vault / exact. Although I have had no problems you may want to give them a call as I heard that some files might not be copied over due to the SQL database. But if you copy the folder I guarantee you the reports will be copied.
  #9  
Old 01-19-2007, 07:16 PM
erick anderson erick anderson is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
State: Hawaii
Professional Status: IT Professional-Appraisal Related
Posts: 1,310
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg Goodpasture
We have multiple backups. Although we don't use ala mode, we do use adobe. All research is printed to pdf and all photos, research, maps, clickform files, etc are kept in the file.

Our computer set up is three notebooks and a desktop. They are set up on a wireless network and our internet is through Hughes.net. All our computers communicate with each other. We use one printer, a cheap Canon, for the rare hard copy we need to print. Usually we have to install new cartridges as they tend to dry out between printing. The Desktop has a DVD RW and two large (200 gig) hard drives.

We then run "Karen Replicator" a couple of times a day. (http://www.karenware.com/powertools/powertools.asp) This shareware allows you to preset a time where data is cloned from one computer to the next. So twice a day each of the notebooks are copied back and forth. (My notebook copies to Annemieke's, then Annemieke's copies back to mine) One that is accomplished, Annemieke's will copy to the other notebook, mine will copy to the E drive. Once those are finished, the E drive copies to the C drive around midnight.

This provides 5 duplicate files on site. Around midnight, we do an FTP to an off site (we rented space from godaddy...about 100 Gigs for around $60 a year.) 2004 total files were about 2 Gig. 2005 total files were about 4 Gig. 2006 total files were close to 8 gig. Assuming we continue to grow in that manner, we can expect 2007 to be 16 gig, 2008 at 32 gig......at that point 2004 will be deleted. And if we have to have more space than that, it is relatively cheap and easy to add.

Karen Replicator, unlike windows explorer, will overwrite, automatically, if the file is newer and has the same name. Only files in the YTD folder are FTP'd to the server, and only files that are complete are put in the YTD folder.

In short, our file structure is c:/2007 with all of the active files in this folder. Competed files are put into C:/2007 YTD folder. C:/2007 is transfered between notebooks and the E drive of the desktop. C:/2007 YTD files are transfered to all notebooks and C and E drives on the desktop and are FTP'd to the remote server. As all this is done automatically, it is all done in the background and does not take more than one or two minutes of our time two or three times a week. But that gives us 5 copies on site and one copy off site.

When the Terrabyte hard drives come out, we may rethink the off site server.......

Hey Greg, you've publicly given a potential hacker/cracker a very good headstart for breaking into your system. LOL
  #10  
Old 01-19-2007, 07:33 PM
xmrdfghap xmrdfghap is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
State: Florida
Professional Status: General Public
Posts: 4,277
Default

And they get what? work files?
Sponsored Links

Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump




Copyright © 2000-, AppraisersForum.com, All Rights Reserved
     Terms of Use  Privacy Policy
AppraisersForum.com is proudly hosted by the folks at AppraiserSites.com

Fastest Way to Find a Real Estate Appraiser Enter Zip Code:
Partner Sites:
AppraiserUSA.com - National Appraiser Directory AllDomainsUSA.com - Domain Name Registration
DeadbeatListings.com - Deadbeat ListingsAppraiserSites.com - Web Hosting for the Professional Real Estate Appraiser
Find FHA Appraisers - FHA Appraiser Search Commercial Appraisers - Commercial Appraiser Search
Relocation Appraisal - Find Relocation Appraisers Domain Reseller - Business Opportunity
Home Security Buzz - Home Security Info Radon Testing - Radon Gas Info
My Medicare Forum - Medicare Info Stop Smoking Help - Help Quitting Smoking
CordlessPhoneStore.com - Great Cordless Phones AndroidTabletCity.com - Android Tablet Computers

Follow AppraisersForum.com:          Find us on Facebook            Follow us on Twitter


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:24 AM.

SiteMap: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93