Real Estate Appraisal Forum

appraisersforum.com logo
The Premiere Online Community for Real Estate Appraisers!
 Fastest Way to Find a Real Estate Appraiser Enter Zip Code:
 
 
Go Back   Appraisers Forum > Real Estate Appraisal Forums > Technical - Hardware/Software > a la mode (WinTotal)
Register Help Our Rules Calendar Archives Mark Forums Read


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 06-17-2005, 08:53 PM
gregg takahashi gregg takahashi is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005

Posts: 14
Default

Does anyone else have problems with the comp database changing comp photos and descriptions around, and forms dropping? Or am I alone in a tiny boat on a rough sea? How do i fix this?
Sponsored Links

  #2  
Old 07-02-2005, 12:57 AM
Jeremy Verace Jeremy Verace is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: IL

Posts: 10
Default

Gregg,

Can't say I've ever run into this problem, but WOW! It would be a big problem undoubtedly. Have you talked to their tech guys? You might try here http://www.alamode.com/tech/default.asp I don't know if you will find what you are looking for but if not there is always tech support.
  #3  
Old 07-05-2005, 02:21 PM
Steve Forstner Steve Forstner is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: michigan
State: Michigan
Professional Status: Certified Residential Appraiser
Posts: 472
Default

I haven't had a problem with it dropping forms or changing data inside the comparables, but it does swap comparable pictures around with great frequency.

The only cure I've got is to be vigilant. Check the pictures each and every time to make sure that the information is correct.
  #4  
Old 07-05-2005, 03:11 PM
Jungle Boy's Avatar
Jungle Boy Jungle Boy is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: West Palm Beach
State: Florida
Professional Status: Real Estate Agent or Broker
Posts: 2,825
Default

I've had the comp photo problem.
Tech support claims that it was a problem with some files a long time ago.
They said that as long as you keep cloning files that had that problem, you will have to deal with the problem.
I also found that it won't screw up the photos if I don't change the order of the comparables. So the solution to the problem is not to put the photos in the report until after you are sure you are satisfied with the comp order.
__________________
Confident guy,ahead in short run,must have skills in long run. Confident guy w/ skills:ahead in L.R.
  #5  
Old 07-15-2005, 11:34 AM
Mister Ed's Avatar
Mister Ed Mister Ed is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Middle Georgia
State: Georgia
Professional Status: Certified Residential Appraiser
Posts: 3,432
Default

We had the problem here... three appraisers were using the same type camera with the same naming scheme. Saving them from the camera to wintotal apparently was causing "overwrites" in the images file.

We started using the QuickPix to load our photos from the camera and set them up to give each photo a unique identifier--the date plus a number extension.

We have had no problem since then.

Just my 2 cents worth.

-ed-
__________________
If crime doesn't pay...
Is working for an AMC a crime?
  #6  
Old 07-18-2005, 10:33 PM
Rick Neighbors's Avatar
Rick Neighbors Rick Neighbors is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Keene, Texas
State: Texas
Professional Status: Certified Residential Appraiser
Posts: 1,068
Default

I agree with Ed, I use Quikpix and everything works fine. I change the order of my comps constantly, and the photos change every time.

Rick
  #7  
Old 08-05-2005, 05:11 PM
Gregory Beck's Avatar
Gregory Beck Gregory Beck is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Fort Lauderdale
State: Florida
Professional Status: Certified Residential Appraiser
Posts: 1,401
Default

No propblems at all you should call tech support at Alamode they are quite helpful
__________________
The banks may have the gold, but the appraiser has the e&o insurance
  #8  
Old 09-09-2005, 09:19 PM
Damon Pedersen Damon Pedersen is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Iowa
State: Iowa
Professional Status: Certified General Appraiser
Posts: 328
Default

I think every appraisal that I review has that problem - just kidding... used a la mode for years and never had it switch a photo. I dont even use the comps database... I have comp files in folders and can re-type quicker than paging through all the database.
Sponsored Links

Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump




Copyright © 2000-, AppraisersForum.com, All Rights Reserved
     Terms of Use  Privacy Policy
AppraisersForum.com is proudly hosted by the folks at AppraiserSites.com

Fastest Way to Find a Real Estate Appraiser Enter Zip Code:
Partner Sites:
AppraiserUSA.com - National Appraiser Directory AllDomainsUSA.com - Domain Name Registration
DeadbeatListings.com - Deadbeat ListingsAppraiserSites.com - Web Hosting for the Professional Real Estate Appraiser
Find FHA Appraisers - FHA Appraiser Search Commercial Appraisers - Commercial Appraiser Search
Relocation Appraisal - Find Relocation Appraisers Domain Reseller - Business Opportunity
Home Security Buzz - Home Security Info Radon Testing - Radon Gas Info
My Medicare Forum - Medicare Info Stop Smoking Help - Help Quitting Smoking
CordlessPhoneStore.com - Great Cordless Phones AndroidTabletCity.com - Android Tablet Computers

Follow AppraisersForum.com:          Find us on Facebook            Follow us on Twitter


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:22 PM.

SiteMap: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93