Real Estate Appraisal Forum

appraisersforum.com logo
The Premiere Online Community for Real Estate Appraisers!
 Fastest Way to Find a Real Estate Appraiser Enter Zip Code:
 
 
Go Back   Appraisers Forum > Real Estate Appraisal Forums > Technical - Hardware/Software > a la mode (WinTotal)
Register Help Our Rules Calendar Archives Mark Forums Read


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 09-30-2005, 08:41 AM
Ed Paskan Ed Paskan is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: SW Pennsylvania
State: Pennsylvania
Professional Status: Certified Residential Appraiser
Posts: 16
Default

[size=7]I attended WinTotal's Aurora seminar in Columbus and spoke to a few peers that have already installed Aurora that have been having problems with system crashes. Tech support said that they are working on many patches. With that in mind, I've been hesitant to install the upgrade.
Anyone out there installed Aurora recently, and, have you had many problems? In short, have they gotten most of the bugs out yet?? Thanx!
Sponsored Links

  #2  
Old 09-30-2005, 10:04 AM
Workbox's Avatar
Workbox Workbox is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Rockies
State: Colorado
Professional Status: Certified Residential Appraiser
Posts: 7,827
Default

Welcome, to the forum. If you look through this section you may find some good info on what is going on with Aurora. At this point I am working around the bugs and am able to get work out. It still crashes at least 1-3 times a day and I have to reboot my computer. There are some real stupid bugs like when you do spell check, it may crash. Your = 0,1,2,3 may loose focus and then use your mouse to get it going. Funtion Buttons that we have gotten used too, have been removed or moved somewhere else.

But my work station is a stand alone system that I have. Others that totaly depend on the complete AlaMode system with servers are having a complete different issues. So do what others have done. If you have a laptop or different system, install it there first and play with it.

They tell me that there is suppose to be another major update. I hope so soon.

You may also want to go to your xSite forum for more info. There are some other issues there too and some BETAS guys may help you or send you to Yahoos Wintol2000 Users Groups for additional info. What ever forum may help you.

At this point there is so much that we can do, and I am sure they have lock all doors and not letting no body out until this get resolved. (not really). But I'm sure they are bust chops and trying to GET-R-DUN.
__________________
In the midst of movement and chaos, keep stillness inside of you.
  #3  
Old 10-01-2005, 01:04 AM
Benjamin Singleton Benjamin Singleton is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
State: Texas
Professional Status: Certified General Appraiser
Posts: 333
Default

I don't understand. Is Aurora out or not? I don't have it. When are they sending it?
  #4  
Old 10-03-2005, 01:03 PM
Tim Hicks (Texas)'s Avatar
Tim Hicks (Texas) Tim Hicks (Texas) is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Crowley
State: Texas
Professional Status: Certified Residential Appraiser
Posts: 11,901
Default

Did you know that Aurora does not currently have automatic customer updates? You have to manually check for updates every day? This is a superior product over Athena?
__________________
Please don't log on here and ask for our blessings unless you are prepared to accept the truth.
  #5  
Old 10-03-2005, 02:22 PM
Ed Paskan Ed Paskan is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: SW Pennsylvania
State: Pennsylvania
Professional Status: Certified Residential Appraiser
Posts: 16
Default

I did not know that. And, that's an impotant piece of information I think they should tell us. Some "upgrade" huh? Thanks for that!
  #6  
Old 10-03-2005, 02:40 PM
Scott Kibler's Avatar
Scott Kibler Scott Kibler is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chicago
State: Illinois
Professional Status: Certified Residential Appraiser
Posts: 5,350
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Tim Hicks (Texas)@Oct 3 2005, 01:03 PM
Did you know that Aurora does not currently have automatic customer updates? You have to manually check for updates every day? This is a superior product over Athena?
Actually I'd prefer that. I never install the updates for days after they've downloaded anyway and clicking the "no" box every time I open wintotal is annoying although I'm too lazy to change the automatic update settings.

Once again I say Alamode, take your sweet time getting Aurora out to me. I hate unplanned down time trying to figure out bug fixes. Let the early adopters blaze a trail for me first.
__________________
Everybody grab your torches and pitchforks!
  #7  
Old 10-05-2005, 11:45 AM
Greg davenport Greg davenport is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Central Arkansas
State: Arkansas
Professional Status: Certified Residential Appraiser
Posts: 881
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Tim Hicks (Texas)@Oct 3 2005, 01:03 PM
Did you know that Aurora does not currently have automatic customer updates? You have to manually check for updates every day? This is a superior product over Athena?
This was added back in with the last update.
  #8  
Old 10-05-2005, 01:00 PM
Tim Hicks (Texas)'s Avatar
Tim Hicks (Texas) Tim Hicks (Texas) is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Crowley
State: Texas
Professional Status: Certified Residential Appraiser
Posts: 11,901
Default

It is not in the "Alamode Assistant" like it was in the "Guru" before. Where do you configure the automatic updates (time, days, etc)? There is an instant customer update button, but nothing for automatic updates.


Correction: I did find it in the configuration utility, not the "Assistant" It was turned off. I do have the most recent version though.
__________________
Please don't log on here and ask for our blessings unless you are prepared to accept the truth.
Sponsored Links

Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump




Copyright © 2000-, AppraisersForum.com, All Rights Reserved
     Terms of Use  Privacy Policy
AppraisersForum.com is proudly hosted by the folks at AppraiserSites.com

Fastest Way to Find a Real Estate Appraiser Enter Zip Code:
Partner Sites:
AppraiserUSA.com - National Appraiser Directory AllDomainsUSA.com - Domain Name Registration
DeadbeatListings.com - Deadbeat ListingsAppraiserSites.com - Web Hosting for the Professional Real Estate Appraiser
Find FHA Appraisers - FHA Appraiser Search Commercial Appraisers - Commercial Appraiser Search
Relocation Appraisal - Find Relocation Appraisers Domain Reseller - Business Opportunity
Home Security Buzz - Home Security Info Radon Testing - Radon Gas Info
My Medicare Forum - Medicare Info Stop Smoking Help - Help Quitting Smoking
CordlessPhoneStore.com - Great Cordless Phones AndroidTabletCity.com - Android Tablet Computers

Follow AppraisersForum.com:          Find us on Facebook            Follow us on Twitter


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:09 PM.

SiteMap: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93