• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

A chance to change things in Ohio....

Status
Not open for further replies.

Paul Bellamy

Freshman Member
This is my first venture onto the AppraisersForum board. I am not an appraiser, but I work as a nonprofit director for an Ohio advocacy group that is concerned with mortgage lending in general, and subprime and predatory lending in particular.

I was struck by the number of appraisers who signed the Petition (appraiserspetition.com) to try to surface and deal with the widespread issue of "bubble numbers" that are being dictated by lenders who need a certain value to make the deal work. We see this as a very common (but not exclusive or universal) feature of the worst subprime and predatory lending in Ohio.

We are currently trying to prepare a list of witnesses for a hearing before the "Ohio Predatory Lending Study Committee", appointed by the Ohio legislature to investigate predatory lending abuses around the state and then charged to prepare suggestions for legislative and administrative reform.

It seems to me that a good number of you are concerned with the current state of the appraisal industry and would like to see some real changes that will put the ethical operator back in the driver's seat---as opposed to the "malleable" appraisers who are currently thriving with the lenders' acquiesce and support.

I am looking for potential appraiser-witnesses to go to Columbus to testify about the reality of the situation that is portrayed in the "Appraisers Petition."