• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Advice On How To Conduct Site Inspections

Status
Not open for further replies.

NC Values

Sophomore Member
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
North Carolina
I would appreciate suggestions and tips and how to best conduct a residential site inspection. In what order do you usually inspect and measure (inside or outside first?)? Do you use customized check sheets for documenting improvements, freehand notes, or just the particular standard form appropriate for the assignment? Is anyone willing to share checksheets they have developed? You may email me at ([email protected]) Other hints or tips?

I realize that inspection methods are largely a matter of personal preference, but I am looking for different opinions on how to attack inspections.

I am a new trainee who has several offers pending and am looking for suggestions on how best to conduct inspections. Thanks for your help...

Sean Braudrick

Sophomore Member
1. Meet the homeowner
2. measure outside
4. take pictures (specific order for me - front1&2, street, rear1&2)
3. measure inside while making notes

We use standard graph paper from the old days.... bold line every 10 squares... for the sketch while in the field
For the subject, we use a copy the front side of the URAR
We have an old standby form for comps....

Unfortunately, my mentor is old-school, so I don't have electronic copies.... I'm planning on cleaning these up & updating them.... the first time I saw the comp form I thought it should have been on that old blue memeograph paper!!

The important thing is to do it the same every time, find what works.... you don't want to have to go back for any reason

Dee Dee

Elite Member
Professional Status
State
Colorado