• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

All three comps from subject's sub-division??

Status
Not open for further replies.
A

Anonymous

I am a newbie and have a question concerning what regulations/guidelines there are about using three comps from within the subjects sub-division. I have heard that this is not allowed at all by most underwriters. I have also heard that this is allowed as long as the sub-division isn't new (i.e. has a significant number of resales). I understand that each house has to be considered independently. But some guideance would be grealty appreciated. Thanks in advance.

airphoto

Professional Status
Retired Appraiser
State
Pennsylvania
Jason,

Believe this relates more to condos, etc.

Blue1

Elite Member
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
California
Jason,

Fannie Mae guidlines state: "For properties that are in established subdivisions OR for units in established condiominium or PUD projects (those that have resale activity), the appraiser should use comparable sales from within the same subdivision........"

That being said, sometimes it's not possible to find all the comparable sales within the subject's immediate area in which case you just need to explain.

P.S. Wayne has kindly provided a link to Fannie Mae where you can go and print out the guidelines.....Look at the top of this page for "Appraiser Links " Good Luck. :wink:

graindart

Professional Status
State
Montana
I get special instructions from certain lenders that states that if it's a NEW subdivision with the only sales being made from the builder to the 1st owner, then they need at least 1 comparable from outside the subdivision. However, if in this new subdivision, you have at least 1 resale to use as a comparable, then they can all be from the subdivision.