• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Am I Making A Fair Amount?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Robert Faber

Freshman Member
As soon as the limited license I just earned is hanging on my wall, my employer is going to bump me from the $9.60/hour I have been making at their firm for the past 8 months to $13/hour. I will receive no benefits, but the firm will provide all equipment and expenses henceforth, and guarantee 40 hours a week until I have my own state license (which with our current production will take less than 14 months). The firm is a small with two state licensed appraisers and a semi-retired certified general appraiser. There are no processors or other unlicensed assistants, not even a receptionist.

My skill set has grown in the 8 months that I have been working there; I can practically complete a 1004 or 2055, with nearly any additional form, do sketches, maps, and photo optimization, comp searches and grids, data collection of all types. I am proficient with ACI, Wintotal, and Excel, I can write C applications, and I set up and run our computer network. We handle 60 or so appraisals a month, all types from 2055 ext only to self contained reports for the state Department of Natural Resources.

The experience has been and will be invaluable, but the pay seems lousy by comparison after discussion with other limited appraisers in my 2-4 family class and some of the arrangements I have read here (though it is far better than others). Should I tough it out, or look for a better deal but that might have less security?

Patrick Egger

Sophomore Member
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Nevada
Robert ...

Don't get caught up in the $$$$ ... step back for a minute and take a look at some other factors.

1) do you like where you work
2) are you getting good training