• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Am I Sol?

Status
Not open for further replies.

High MT

Freshman Member
Professional Status
Appraiser Trainee
State
Connecticut
I'm a trainee (13 months, 1500 hours completed). I have the worst Misdemeanor there is, Petit Theft. I made a costly mistake and shoplifted from Winco in 2009 with some buddies when I was in high school. I had just turned 18. I have a Business Management Bachelors, an Eagle Scout Award, but have never been in trouble with the law besides this. Expungement does not exist in the state that I live.

I'm in a great position to take over a successful appraisal business. On the 2 AMC applications I've seen, they word it like this: "Convicted of a felony or public offense as it relates to violence, THEFT, fraud, narcotics, property damage or a dishonest act?"

It will have been 9 years by the time I get my CRA, but am I SOL? Be honest please. Thank you guys.

Mike Kennedy

Elite Member
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
New York
One CAN own an appraisal business and hire an Ethical Experienced Appraiser/Manager.

D

Deleted member 134708

They ain't gonna do a livescan, DOJ, FBI background check.

Check no. You're fine.

Gobears81

Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Illinois
Is there a statute of limitations on these types of things?

Terrel L. Shields

Elite Member
Gold Supporting Member
Professional Status
State
Arkansas
Ask a lawyer, and if they say mark yes, then ask the board if that is necessarily a killer. I suspect they can waive it after a hearing.

George Hatch

Elite Member
Gold Supporting Member
Professional Status
State
California