• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Ammunition For The Foundation, Et Al

Status
Not open for further replies.

David C. Johnson

Ammunition for the Foundation, et al

Going through some old files recently, I found the following newspaper article appearing "below the line" in this post originally printed in September of 1999 in some of our papers. But it's still very current -- perhaps particularly so. Because the same crew from this time period are largely still there at the NCAB, and were also appointed by the very same people, through the very same system you are about to read about. I read about the AARO fiasco in David Bruner's "Working RE" Magazine (I hope I spelled his name and his publication's name right -- BTW, excellent publication, I got a two-year subscription a couple of weeks ago, and hope others will do the same). It sure appears North Carolina's appraisal board (NCAB) is now being a significant problem for the entire profession -- even outside the State, which by the way, was predicted numerous times by several of us starting back about the time this article was written. So maybe the old article will help out. Foundation people should always remember the most important Axiom within the profession in this state: "If the NCAB decides it is FOR something regarding the profession (or anything else), without a doubt, it is something that should never ever happen. If something is absolutely mandatory for the heath of the profession in the State, without a doubt it will be opposed by the NCAB." The Nation's appraisers, appraisal boards and all regulators are sure advised to consider accepting these truisms as early as possible.

<span style='color:purple'>A quick update: