• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Forum Sponsor - a la mode

QuickSource provides a single-source solution to easily import, compare, and manage data from multiple, credible sources in every report. See what the next game-changer is really all about.

Apex V6 W/total Makes Porch Line Thickness Too Large

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pat Butler

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Illinois
Wondering if anyone else has experienced the same problem. Using Apex v6 with Total and the interaction between the two programs works fine except for one problem. Anything identified as a porch initially comes into Total looking just fine, but prints out with a very thick line when it gets printed as a PDF document from Total.

Had Alamode look at it and ended up with a tech who wasn't too good, which was unusual for them. A senior tech was suppose to get back to me, but never did.

I can get the PDF document to look normal if I bypass the built-in PDF writer in Total and simply set my default printer to my version of Acrobat. But that has to be set back anytime I need to physically print something.

I'm using the newest version of Acrobat and think it might have to do with some sort of incompatibility there. I've changed line thickness down to the narrowest in Apex without that helping the problem.
 

Tim Hicks (Texas)

Elite Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Texas
Total sketch is so similar to Apex, you should just use the free Total sketch instead of relying on the integration. I resisted at first too, but when I decided to use Total Mobile with sketching on the ipad at the property, it improved my productivity. Honestly, I resisted that too long, too. I don't use all the Total Mobile program, but I do enter all the subject data and sketch at the property. It helps knowing the tax GLA is off 400 sf when at the property. Then you can use your ipad to acess the MLS for the proper comparable sales. Second trips are becoming less of a problem these days except for those few...many that are just not typical properties.
 

TXTea

Sophomore Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2016
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Texas
Total sketch is so similar to Apex, you should just use the free Total sketch instead of relying on the integration.
I agree. I was considering purchasing the new Apex version but the TOTAL annual integration fee is kind of ridiculous. The TOTAL sketch feature is actually pretty good. I've successfully sketched very complex properties on it and they turn out nice after various formatting methods I use. But I have noticed that TOTAL Sketch is stretched to its limits on very complex structures and I had a really rough time with TOTAL Sketch earlier this year on a complex 9,700 sf residence. It seems that the calculations are just too much for it and I am in the habit of saving my work every few minutes or so.

But I'm not throwing out the Apex option just yet primarily because, again, I don't think TOTAL Sketch is powerful enough. Is there a way to import an Apex sketch into the report without formally integrating with TOTAL? Like as a jpg image or pdf perhaps?
 

Pat Butler

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Illinois
I agree that Total's sketch program is getting better. But this version of Apex has some nice features too. This glitch with the line width is the only problem I ran into.

I can export the sketch from Apex separately, then insert it into the appraisal. But that wastes a lot of time, and I'm constantly messing with my sketch while developing the appraisal.
 

Mike Ault

Junior Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2004
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Texas
Wondering if anyone else has experienced the same problem. Using Apex v6 with Total and the interaction between the two programs works fine except for one problem. Anything identified as a porch initially comes into Total looking just fine, but prints out with a very thick line when it gets printed as a PDF document from Total.

Had Alamode look at it and ended up with a tech who wasn't too good, which was unusual for them. A senior tech was suppose to get back to me, but never did.

I can get the PDF document to look normal if I bypass the built-in PDF writer in Total and simply set my default printer to my version of Acrobat. But that has to be set back anytime I need to physically print something.

I'm using the newest version of Acrobat and think it might have to do with some sort of incompatibility there. I've changed line thickness down to the narrowest in Apex without that helping the problem.
 

Mike Ault

Junior Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2004
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Texas
Wondering if anyone else has experienced the same problem. Using Apex v6 with Total and the interaction between the two programs works fine except for one problem. Anything identified as a porch initially comes into Total looking just fine, but prints out with a very thick line when it gets printed as a PDF document from Total.

Yes, I have had a similar problem and Randall himself helped me with it late one night. try changing the line style from a dotted line which appears to be the default to a solid line. once I did that my thick porch and patio lines were back to normal again when I print it through Total. Apparently the Alamode PDF driver has a hard time with dotted lines in this version of Apex for some reason.
 

Pat Butler

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Illinois
Thank you very much Mike! That worked.

The tech guy at Alamode told me that Total used whatever PDF program I had on my computer to create the PDF file. That didn't make sense because not everyone has a PDF creation tool. He then said that everyone should have the free Reader, but the Reader doesn't create PDF documents! He then blamed my primary physical printer setup on this which made no sense.

Alamode's tech support is usually excellent, but I got a guy who clearly was taking guesses. They promised to have a senior tech call back, but no one ever did.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Find a Real Estate Appraiser - Enter Zip Code

Copyright © 2000-, AppraisersForum.com, All Rights Reserved
AppraisersForum.com is proudly hosted by the folks at
AppraiserSites.com
Top

AdBlock Detected

We get it, advertisements are annoying!

Sure, ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks useful features of our website. For the best site experience please disable your AdBlocker.

I've Disabled AdBlock
No Thanks