• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Forum Sponsor - a la mode

QuickSource provides a single-source solution to easily import, compare, and manage data from multiple, credible sources in every report. See what the next game-changer is really all about.

Athena Vs. Aurora

Status
Not open for further replies.

Matthew Schwartz

Junior Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2006
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
California
Yes, I'm sure this has been beaten to death already, but I NOW NEED TO DECIDE. Should I move over to Aurora from Athena. Thank you, I am going off to double secret probation now.
 

Ms. Janet

Elite Member
Gold Supporting Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2004
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Florida
:rof::rof::rof::rof:What on earth are you waiting for!!!!
 

JRS at OBX

Elite Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2006
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
North Carolina
Yes. Do it. Do it now!!
 

William K

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2007
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Illinois
All I can say is I have had their service since the earlies 1990's. I waited 2 years before I switched to Aurora from Athena. Definitely like Aurora better. Learning curve was far shorter than I anticipated. When I weigh the differences positive and negative the positive ones out weigh the negative. I can't even imagine going back to Athena.

( Just wish they allowed for Quarterly payments on the renewal , times are tough and something has got to give)
 

PBKlingensmith

Sophomore Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2008
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Pennsylvania
Aurora is the way to go.....
 

Jonah

Junior Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2006
Professional Status
Licensed Appraiser
State
Utah
Athena is lame, old and stupid.
 

Wendy

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2004
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Florida
Come in outta the rain already.
 

Rufus

Junior Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2008
Professional Status
Licensed Appraiser
State
Indiana
Yes, do upgrade. But be sure your system has enough oomph to run Aurora. See this thread:

http://appraisersforum.com/showthread.php?t=137658

Also, you might want to download this document and keep it handy for those times when you may have difficulties finding how to do something that used to be easy:

http://www.alamode.com/tech/trainingdocs/2007_Seminar_Workbook.pdf

After you upgrade, I would go through one complete test appraisal before it is time critical. Do a sketch, map, and so forth to be comfortable with where and how to do them. The learning curve is not too bad, but some things ain't where they used to be.
 

Scott Kibler

Elite Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2003
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Illinois
I too was a late convert, moving over last November.

If you got the machine to run it, do it now. You will be glad you did.
 

Will43

Senior Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2003
Professional Status
Licensed Appraiser
State
Ohio
I am still thinking about it. Can you turn off the automatic adjustments in AURORA? The techs at Alamode suggest a minimum of 1 gig of ram. My main computer has 2 gigs, but my backup only has 512.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Find a Real Estate Appraiser - Enter Zip Code

Copyright © 2000-, AppraisersForum.com, All Rights Reserved
AppraisersForum.com is proudly hosted by the folks at
AppraiserSites.com
Top

AdBlock Detected

We get it, advertisements are annoying!

Sure, ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks useful features of our website. For the best site experience please disable your AdBlocker.

I've Disabled AdBlock
No Thanks