• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Bad Decisions

Status
Not open for further replies.

HelenTestin

Sophomore Member
Incredible,

I spoke to a kid in a course I am taking. He left, listen to this, a $41,000 a year job to try Appraisal. I asked him if he had heard the news about the rising rates, and of course, he thought nothing of it.

As I have said before, I am just a trainee, but with a decade of working in the Corporate world, dodging layoffs, moving from company to company as the risks of downsizing or buy outs rose, I see the writing on the wall. I work for a friend that has quite a few years of experience and a good client base. But, I know she will have to cut me back to part time, or out all together in the next several months.

The truth? I had had enough of my corp job, and was out the door one way or the other. However, i should had done it two years ago. Just like this poor kid, with a tough job market, I jumped to late. The refi boom is over and I think a good % of trainees that entered the field in the last 6 months will be looking for work again by early 2004.

The good news. Unlike this kid, I have no children and good sized bank account. I will continue Appraisal until I am no longer needed, or just needed here and there, and then see if I can make it to be fully licenced. Maybe do some part time low stress work (Wally World), as a supp income.

I am not unhappy about leaving my previous job. I was to the point where I just hated everyday I was in there. But, I do kick myself for not changing sooner. I think this could be the worst possible time to consider the Appraisal profession.

Anyway. Just thought some of you guys might be amazed at the risk that some are taking.

Helen

hal380

Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Connecticut
Hi Helen