• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

becoming certified

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kim Whiting

Professional Status
Licensed Appraiser
State
Michigan
I would like to pose a question to all the certified appraisers in the fourm. Did becoming a certified appraiser get you more business then when you were only a state licensed appraiser?

Chris Colston

Elite Member
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Florida
I can't speak for others, but I'm sure there are plenty here who went directly from Trainee or Provisional to Certified.

I was NEVER a state licensed appraiser. I went directly to Certified in 1990, took the very first test offered, in Maryland. When I moved to Florida, in 1993, I was a Registered Trainee for a grand total of 48 hours before I sat for the Certification exam. There are many states, Florida being one, that no longer offer a License category.

PropertyEconomics

Elite Member
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
New Mexico
Im like you Chris .. I took the first test in 1990 and went from Appraiser to General Certified Appraiser ... I never held a lower license.

I do think more and more clients are not only going to require certified soon .. they are going to require certified with X number of years experience. Thats where I see this mess taking us and it will be good for our business.

timd354

Elite Member
Professional Status
State
Maryland