• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Can driveby be considered "complete summary" repor

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doug in NC

Elite Member
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
North Carolina
I am still relatively new at completing driveby appraisals. Can a driveby be considered a complete summary appraisal report? My understanding is that it is a complete summary report if you don't invoke the departure provision. Since the sales comparison is typically the best indicator of market value, while the income and cost approaches are not applicable (older home in an owner-occupied neighborhood). Am I right or do I need to go back to USPAP school? :?:

wyecoyote

Professional Status
Gvmt Agency, FNMA, HUD, VA etc.
State
Washington
Doug,

A Complete Appraisal is when the departure rule is not invoked. A Limited appraisal is when the departure rule has been invoked. These are the types of appraisals there are three types of reports (Self Contained, Summary, & Restricted Use). If your talking about the 2055 this is a Limited Appraisal Summary Report per its own wording. As far as the Cost Approach being applicable on an older house depends on who you talk to. Personally I still consider this as an applicable approach even on older houses to value if the depreciation schedule is done correctly. However, some appraisers consider it as not applicable on older houses. Like I said it depends on who you talk to as in most appraising there are many opinions on how to approach appraising depending on who you talk to and who there mentor was. Don't even get started on asking how to fill out a form.

Ryan

Farm Gal

Elite Member
Professional Status
Licensed Appraiser
State
Nebraska
:lol:
Doug:
USPAP gets the best of us tied into knots sometimes...