• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Forum Sponsor - a la mode

QuickSource provides a single-source solution to easily import, compare, and manage data from multiple, credible sources in every report. See what the next game-changer is really all about.

Can't Fix This Darn Thing!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Charlotte Dixon

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Delaware
For the past 3-4 weeks my multi-list systems have not operated properly. One multi list system says I am not logged in, when I am. When I click "X" it says "now logging out"....The other multi-list system won't let me print using their icon. I must go up to the print icon on the gray bar. (Dead giveaway I'm stupid about this).

Following this problem, on Monday, I thought my computer crashed. My angel tech guy from the store down the street was here in 7 minutes, took it away, and brought it back 5 hours later ($147.00 :). That problem was the start-up, which has never operated properly. Now it does. He told me that from starting up improperly, which was the only way I could do it, the wear and tear finally froze the startup and eventually, I got a black screen which I thought indicated it crashed. O.K. machine is fixed, nothing is lost, updated with the new Windows 2000 upgrades; I have microsoft 6. A virus scan said everything is fine. I figured my MLS problem was related to any of the above. Not so. Today, it started again. I neglected to say previously that I've been in touch with both MLS providers. They seem to thing it's a Pop UP problem. I've deleted all the pop-ups I installed, Analog POW and Ad-Ware. Still, there's a problem. I've deleted cookies and temporary files like they told me; still a problem. One of the MLS techs even took control of my machine to try and figure what was wrong. Just when I think it's fixed, it comes back. If I restart my machine, it clears everything out and I can use both multi-lists with ease, until I leave that site. When I go back, the problem is there again. I'm in and out of both multi-lists all day long, so I can't keep restarting.

I just don't know. By chance....do any of you have a suggestion? :(
 

Ghost Rider

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 27, 2003
Professional Status
Banking/Mortgage Industry
State
Connecticut
I assume you are using a web based MLS system from your post......If thats the case, just leave the browsers open on your system and don't close out of them, you can just minimize the Internet Explorer windows, and leave them down on your menu bar, and when you need them, pop them up......not the most elegant system, but it would work until someone can figure out the issue from a more technical level.
 

Charlotte Dixon

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Delaware
Hmmm......you missed the part :redface: "dead giveaway I'm stupid" part....

O.K. "leave the brower open" ????? Does that mean, don't log out of the multi-list? I have cable, so I pop in and out, but if I stay in MLS it logs me out after 20 minutes.

Thank you SO much for the response, but, but, :redface: :question:
 

Chris von Nieda

Freshman Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2003
Hi Charlotte,

I have a few ideas and questions that may (or may not!) help but we'll give it a try. Most sites that require a "login" have a specific "session" length they allow you, then you are automatically logged out. Most web servers are set at 20 mins by default. Therefore, if you stay on that site longer then 20 mins with no activity, you will find that when you attempt to resume your session you will be unable to without logging back in. Are you saying that within minutes of being logged in that you are saying you are logged out or that you are logged out before you are logged in? Also, if you could be more specific on what the "problem" is that would help greatly. An example would be: I open Internet Explorer, I type in the address, then when I get to the site "what happens". Do you get an error? If so what is it. Does the browser close? Are you being told you can not log in etc?

- Chris :eyecrazy:
 

Charlotte Dixon

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Delaware
Chris,

When I log in, the page I see is the selection page for perimeters. I check, ranch.......date sold ____ to _____ and area. That takes me about 20 seconds. Then I click "search" and the box comes up...you are not logged in. That's with one multi-list.

With the other multi-list when I click their "print" icon the message says "page can not be displayed".....I can print using the tool bar printer icon at the top, but the pages are "run on".... I can't print just the one listing page I want.

When I re-boot my computer, everything works fine until the next time, which could be an hour later, or 8 hours later.

It's a mystery. This started about 3 weeks ago; previous to that....everything worked fine. Windows 2000, Internet Explorer 6, logs of Ram.
 

Chris von Nieda

Freshman Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2003
Hi Charlotte,

Thanks fo the info. In regards to problem#1: I encountered a similar problem with a "comps" service I was using once. I was baffled for quite some time. I would have never guessed what the solution was but here it is: In my office we had "content ratings" turned on. (It limits the type of websites that can be displayed on your system designed for parents, professional offices etc.) Because we had it turned on I was having log in problems. When I turned it off, probelm solved. So try this: In IE 6 go to the menu at the top and click on "Tools", "Internet Options", "Content" and check and see if the Content Advisor is turned on. If it is, turn it off, click OK at the bottom and close Internet Explorer (all windows) and then try again. Another option would be that the Privacy settings on your computer are too high. I have encountered that as well. As a test (and try only one at a time so you know which of these two solutions resolves the problem) go back up to the menu again and click "Tools", "Internet Options", "Privacy" and slide the Cookie slider all the way to the bottom. Click OK, close all windows of IE and reopen it and try again. If the Privacy fix works try sliding up the slider one notch at a time and testing the site so your privacy setting will be high as possible.

As far as problem #2: My guess is their is a problem on their site you may want to report. A simple print button not working most likely means their is code problems in their page. A work around is you can "right click" onthe area of the page you want to print and you will get a print option. That will give you a more specific print job then clicking the print icon on the tool bar.

Let me know how it goes!

- Chris
 

Ben Vukicevich SRA

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2002
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
New Jersey
Hey Charlotte,

It's not Trend is it???

How about going to www.pcpitstop.com and letting it run a free check on your entire machine for you to see if anything is awry, software and hardware?

Here's another solution for you, if all else fails and you're spending tons of money to fix a never ending problem. Use the existing computer for your appraisal work and head off to Best Buy and pick up the E-Machines cheapie for $399 and let it be your internet cruiser. It's nice to keep the internet stuff separate from your appraisal programs so if one goes down, you're not out of business.

Ben
 

Terrel L. Shields

Elite Member
Gold Supporting Member
Joined
May 2, 2002
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Arkansas
Ambiance our MLS provider (semi-provider, non-provider, just pitiful, just pitiful) sent us an update and it did not work on my computer. Emailed, no help. So we called them and they did a net-meeting, took over the computer and fixed it.

Then afterwards a few hours I tried to go into Windows Explorer and create a new directory (I create a directory by job number and dump the pix and files in it) and the NEW button was not there. The menu was really unfamiliar, kinda web like...My $ervice tech came today and fixed it after 2 hours. Not a setting problem, but corrupted ddl files. I blame the Ambiance service tech 'fooling around" but who knows.

Only thing I know is that Ambiance stinks and if it was any worse it would be unusable.
 

Charlotte Dixon

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Delaware
Problem #1 is fixed. That first MLS program I spoke of many times said "logged out" as soon as I logged in and selected my choices (after about 20 seconds). I got a tech person from that company that had me delete cookies, temporary files again, change this, change that until finally the key! In my selection bar which lists: "Print, Use Checked, Display Full Listing" etc. there is a line that says "Count Records". She told me to uncheck that each time I go in. Darn if that didn't fix it. Such a simple thing and who would have thought? Certainly not me.

Problem #2 ...Second MLS program - can't use their printer icon because it says "page can not be displayed". That's a real pain because I can't select multiple listings to print.....only one at a time right click and print each. Guess I'll have to live with it. :angry: Ben, that's TRend. They don't have a clue.

Thanks all for you help.
 

Ben Vukicevich SRA

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2002
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
New Jersey
Charlotte,

Do you have a pop-up killer on your machine because Trend pop-ups the print page and print box on top of the listing page??? Just a thought.

Ben
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Find a Real Estate Appraiser - Enter Zip Code

Copyright © 2000-, AppraisersForum.com, All Rights Reserved
AppraisersForum.com is proudly hosted by the folks at
AppraiserSites.com
Top

AdBlock Detected

We get it, advertisements are annoying!

Sure, ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks useful features of our website. For the best site experience please disable your AdBlocker.

I've Disabled AdBlock
No Thanks