• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Cash Flow projection question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vin Piazza

Freshman Member
I came across AI's "The Appaisal of Real EState" 12th edition and decided to spend some time learning about commercial building valuation. (I am an equity analyst, not an appraiser.) I have a general question on the theory used in the book. On page 590, the book presents a projected income statement that excludes interest expense, depreciation, and amortization. I am somewhat puzzled by this. Interest, depreciation and amortization are really tax shields and are a part of the ongoing operations of the building-interest for the debt, depreciation for capital expenses, etc. So why remove these from a typical income statement. When I project cash flows as an equity analyst I do add back certain items to get pure free cash flow to the firm. Can someone explain/reconcile this for me please ? Thanks, Vin.

Professional Status
Retired Appraiser
State
Florida
Vin,

I'm moving this post to the Commercial Forum and hope that you'll receive more exposure and answers there.

Pamela Crowley

Bill_FL

Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Florida
Try to think of it as two areas of expenses. Property expenses and owner expenses. The interest, depreciation, etc is considered an owner expense and are typically not related to the performance of an income producing property, in terms of its net operating income. Only income and expensese directly attributable to the property, before debt service, taxes, etc are considered.

There are cases where some of these expenses are considered, but it is in a different methodology in the income approach. I assume you were reading about direct capitalization.

Vin Piazza

Freshman Member