• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Changing a Broker Company Name on Appriasal

Status
Not open for further replies.

JackG in CA

Freshman Member
Professional Status
Real Estate Agent or Broker
State
California
I am a mortgage broker who recently changed companies. The loan I am working on has the previous brokerage's name on it. My client paid for the appraisal at the time it was completed. The property is in Idaho.

In order to submit the loan with my new company, I need the appriasal to reflect this new company's name. However, the appraiser is telling me that he is not allowed, by law, to change the company name on an appraisal.

My questions is; can this be true? What options do I have if the appraiser will not cooperate?

Thanks for any help you can provide.

Jack

Fred

Elite Member
Professional Status
Retired Appraiser
State
Virgin Islands
My questions is; can this be true? What options do I have if the appraiser will not cooperate?
Yes, it can be true, and you options are: 1) to hire another appraiser or 2) to forget about this deal.

It may sound like nit-picking from where you sit, but you won't find one appraiser on here - well, except many for this one guy - who is going to do anything that looks like changing the address on a certified document.

CANative

Elite Member
Professional Status
Retired Appraiser
State
California
Your appraiser is correct (I don't know about breaking the law... it's more like a guideline Arrrrr). Appraiser can't just change the name on an appraisal because each assignment is unique and the first step is identifying the client and intended user(s).

You would have to order a new appraisal. If the same appraiser is hired and the prior assignment was very recent, most appraisers will offer a discount. But they don't have to.