• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Cheap *&%^& Realtors

Status
Not open for further replies.

liznindy

Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Indiana
I got a call from the LO on a FHA appraisal. The realtors involved in the sale are asking if I can "take their word that the repairs are complete" and send in the Compliance Inspection Report. It seems they are balking at my fee for a reinspect..... ($75).

My first thought...... well, I will not vocalize it in this forum out of respect for Wayne!

I told the LO I haven't met a Realtor yet who waives their fee......why should I?

I do favors for my best clients from time to time but I make my living appraising...

Farm Gal

Elite Member
Professional Status
Licensed Appraiser
State
Nebraska
:rofl: :rofl:

And surely you would be willing to take their word that ALL of the repairs are completed... :) IF and when they hand you a money order in the full amount of estimated repairs plus a twenty percent contingency increase...

and then only after you see it wif your very own eyes anyway :p

I mean come ON :eyecrazy:

liznindy

Professional Status
State
Indiana
It seems to me that a Realtor who is listing a home which may go FHA financing would suggest to the sellers that the windows should be operational before the appraiser comes out to inspect !!!!

Farm Gal

Elite Member
Professional Status
Licensed Appraiser
State
Nebraska
Jeff:

In some areas, granted not all areas, it is my understanding that the original appraiser is STILL the person who performs the final (compliance) inspections.

If you have evidence that the 'authorized compliance inspector' system is nationwide 100% on any finals please advise ASAP.

I have a need (urgent need) to know...