• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Converted garage to be included in GLA?

Status
Not open for further replies.

TJFerguson

Freshman Member
Professional Status
Appraiser Trainee
State
North Carolina
Hey, did an inspection today on a property where owner had converted the single car attached garage to living area. The garage door is still operable but owner created a storage area 5' by 15', with a standard door entering into the new living space. The original exterior door has been taken off the hinges, there's carpet on the slab floor and a gas fireplace has been installed. I am a trainee and there's question to if this is to be included as GLA, since the garage door still operates and the floor is not at the height of the orginal structure. Would love to get others opinions that might clear this matter up a bit, for someone that's not sure. Thanks

Last edited:

Lee in L.A.

Elite Member
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
California
Is it permitted? I'll guess not by the sound of it. :shrug:

38Scarcello

Professional Status
State
Washington
I hope you took photos of the "conversion".....otherwise you will be going back to take some. Send your supervisor, since apparently he has nothing else to do.

Ken Youngkrantz

Professional Status
Licensed Appraiser
State
California
Does the same heating/Ac unit serve the converted area? No heat no GLA. Gas fireplace doesn't cut it. Does the rest of the house have AC? Does the conversion have AC? If not the same then no GLA.