• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Divorce appraisal

Status
Not open for further replies.

cubfan

Freshman Member
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Illinois
Looks like I'll be going to a deposition regarding my appraisal. As I understand it , I'm an expert witness and should get paid for my time. Correct? Is opposing counsel responsible for my testimony fees? Is an engament letter with opposing counsel the best way to approach this?

Kevin A. Spellman

Professional Status
State
Massachusetts
A deposition does not require you to be qualified as an expert witness. What is the purpose of the deposition? They may try to disqualify your potential testimony where at that time your attorney will attempt to qualify you as an n expert witness.

For the attorney to enter your findings, he or she must qualify you as an expert and then enter your report as an exhibit and then have you also state the value for the record. I have only been deposed once and I charge my time during the testimony in court. Is another appraiser being deposed also? Tried to at least get a free lunch.

Joker

Elite Member
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Ohio
Free lunch? Get paid an hourly rate commensurate with your experience!

Please provide us with more details of the assignment. Have you already done an appraisal? If so, who is your client? Have you been sent a subpeona?

cubfan

Freshman Member
Professional Status
State
Illinois
Appraisal is already done on behalf of Mrs. Now Mr. has called to say he doesn't agree with my value and his atty. is ready to pounce on me. Not afraid of atty. I just want to get paid for my time if called for deposition or actual court.
If Mr.'s atty. requests my presence, whether depostion or court, do they have to pay?

PropertyEconomics

Elite Member