• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Does anybody else think this sounds like a flip?

Status
Not open for further replies.

BigBlueGA

Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Georgia
Of course as some of you know I am also a Realtor. :twisted:

I have a sale that I am the selling agent on.. it's a VERY large manufactured home that was foreclosed on. Excellent condition, but it's not on a permanent foundation. Wouldn't meet qualifications for conventional financing through the bank due to this so they are financing the sale with a construction loan for $57,000 (Sales price is $51k, plus $6k to put it on a permanent foundation) then they are converting the construction loan to conventional as soon as the foundation is permanent). The bank gets an appraiser from a ways away and I meet them out there to let them in. Older lady steps out of the car and she asks what kind of loan.. I tell her and first thing she does is looks at her assistant and proclaims "THIS LOOKS LIKE A FLIP!"... It's very obviously not, but I was a little offended.. does this sound like a flip scheme to anybody else????

:2gunfire:

Jo Ann Meyer Stratton

Elite Member
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Arizona
By the way, if it was constructed after June 15, 1976 to HUD it is NOT as mobile home, it is a manufactured home!!! If constructed prior to that date it would be a mobile home.

BigBlueGA

Professional Status
State
Georgia
AH! Ok, fixed.. you always get me on that one.. :)

Willie

Professional Status
State
Tennessee