• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Does the mentor have to physically inspect all properties?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ginny Eiseman

Freshman Member
I've been a licensed trainee for over 7 months and was training for several months prior to getting my license. I've been doing appraisals on my own without my supervisor with me for several months now. She carefully reviews my work and we both sign it. I always mark the box which states she wasn't present at the inspection. None of the clients has ever raised a question about it but recently another appraiser told her that she absolutely has to be present at every inspection. This concerned both of us and I wrote an email to our state licensing board, who said they'd get back to me and of course they haven't. I've searched our state regulations and can't find an answer and I was sure that it was discussed at one of the AI classes I took. If she has to be present it will have fairly drastic consequences for me since I live in a rural isolated community and she'd have to fly here for every appraisal. She did this for the first several months but now it would dramatically effect turn around time, not to mention costs.

Lisa Alleva

Sophomore Member
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
New York
Hi Ginny,

Some banks do not accept reports from licensed trainees. Only in these cases must a supervisor inspect the property. Most of the time, they won't even assign the job to you.

As a licensed apprentice, you are able to do your own appraisals providing that you have a certified appraiser sign off on them. I've done over 100 and two came back from banks that don't accept licensees. Chase is one bank that doesn't. Merrill Lynch is another.