• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Double Dealing?

Status
Not open for further replies.

gregs

Freshman Member
Professional Status
Real Estate Agent or Broker
State
Georgia
I'm a builder in Georgia. Three years ago I acquired 39 sf developed lots. The bank loaned me 100% of Market Value. Turned out to be a terrible market. This year the lender foreclosed. The lender this time had the lots appraised using the DCF method which, of course, gutted the value by 40%. I wonder if the bank has the flexibility to use 2 different appraisal methods on the same collateral to manipulate the values to create a difficiency.

I would have had no problem with the lender using the DCF at the time of foreclosure had they also used the DCF at the time of acquisition.

Any Ideas?

Thomas Fiehler

Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Ohio
I don't know any lender with at least a partial brain that would NOT use a DCF. That is, unless you have contracts in hand for all the lots. It was possibly an error on the original appraisal not to discoutn the sales unless the market was really that hot at that time.

Boonders

Professional Status
State
Iowa
If they actually sell them for more, it's my understanding you get the proceeds and/or partial release.

This is more of a banking question than an appraisal question.

But, it still comes down to the "you borrowed it", no matter what the valuation, you still borrowed the same amount.

And, lending 100% of retail market value of individual lots is pretty crazy. Sounds like somebody(s) getting fired.

The Warrior Monk

Staff member
Professional Status
State
New York