• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

E & O Insurance Question #2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pat Gries

Freshman Member
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Colorado
I may need to explain myself on the issue of E & O Insurance from my posting a few days ago.

I am a trainee and have contacted many E & O Insurance companies and they are telling me they don't insure trainee's. I keep reading on this forum that everyone needs this E & O insurance and I am willing to purchase it if needed. One company told me that the "Mentor" should carry the insurance for the trainee.

My question is what is required for the state of Colorado.

Professional Status
Retired Appraiser
State
Florida
Check with your mentor and then the company s/he is insured with.
If you don't have a mentor, you don't need E&O as you shouldn't be doing any appraisals.

Mountain Man

Elite Member
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Georgia
Pat,
Like I posted before, I carry a whole compay policy. My policy covers anyone and everyone that works for me. Your mentor should carry the same. Or, if you mentor is not willing to pay for your coverage, maybe you could offer to chip in on the cost of a company policy.

Lee SW IL

Professional Status
State
Illinois
Just checked with my E & O today.

Appraisals performed by my company, (Gateway Appraisal) me or a contractor they are insured. If the appraiser is a self employed contractor that also does appraisals for his own company those reports would not be covered.

As a trainee, you would not be able to perform an appraisal without a mentor.

Richard McCullough

Freshman Member