• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Forum Sponsor - a la mode

Learn more about Titan Reports, our new cloud-based formfiller, SmartExchange, Titan Office, and Titan Drive to see how you can revolutionize your appraisal business.

EDI BEGINNER PROBLEM

Status
Not open for further replies.

pato

Thread Starter
Freshman Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Texas
I finally set up my Athena update and purchased the Adobe Acrobat program. (I'm far from computer literate as this will show.) I tried to follow the "simple" directions. First attempt to send part of a report was okay, I think. Two immediate problems: 1 When I send a report, an Adobe icon appears on my desktop showing that report. I deleted the icons but seems they should not show up. 2) Every time I do any EDI/Adobe transaction, even when it works, I end up with the dreaded "a fatal error has occurred..." I have tried seveal tests, but continue to have "after sending" program problems requiring rebooting etc. Any suggestions for a real computer illiterate? Finally, is there any way to confirm that the report went through besides calling the client?
 
A

Anonymous

Guest
first, take a deep breath and relax. a la mode deleted some stuff on their server on tuesday nite that was for olympus. whatever it was screwed up their proj2000 server. rendering the edi outbox useless. call a la mode. they have not created a patch; i mean update #35, but, can help u solve your problem. force the issue, the tech moron will tell u your system is messed, your isp is messed up, his dog ate the total manual, u dont have platinum, etc, etc. THEY WILL NOT ADMIT THEY F***** up!! good luck
 
A

Anonymous

Guest
forgot to mention, u can completely blow off the edi center and send everything thru outlook xprss. it's simple and not as annoying as wintotal edi. I HATE WINTOTAL :evil:
 

Spidey

Freshman Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2002
If you hate WinTotal so much, why do you use it? You seem to know a lot about the software for someone that hates it so much.

If their technicians are morons, why did YOU call THEM for help? Sorry, just don't think I understand.

:roll:
 
A

Anonymous

Guest
spidey,

i use it b/c the company i work for uses it and isnt prepared to convert reports from different software platforms. so, i knopw the software well.

i hate wintotal/a la mode b/c they released olympus and athena when they werent ready and they launch software despite numerous beta bugs and problems. as a result, these problems continue to rear their ugly heads causing problems and delays. 34 updates since athena was released. give me a break

and, in regards to tech support, who else should i call the appraisal software fairie? i use their software; despite my disappointment with their skills and their arrogance that the software has no problems. i continue to rely on them as they are made aware of most bugs, conflicts, problems, and issues pertaining to their product.

do u work for a la mode?
 

pato

Thread Starter
Freshman Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Texas

forgot to mention, u can completely blow off the edi center and send everything thru outlook xprss. it's simple and not as annoying as wintotal edi. I HATE WINTOTAL :evil:
Thanks, I like the alternative of being able to send a report through outlook. Could you advise of the process and whether it uses the PDF format with Adobe? anxious to hear
 

Neil (Texas)

Sophomore Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2002
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Texas
Mr.B, take a deep breathhhh... and relaxxxxx...

I don't believe there has ever been a software release (of any kind, from anyone) that was bugless. As far as alamode tech support, I have found them to be head and shoulders above the rest (any and all).

Sure, we all get frustrated when things aren't going right but I find a little grease is more helpful than grit. Maybe it's my attitude when I call them. I'm looking for help, not confrontation.
Besides, my cardiologist told me to change my ways, or else.
 
A

Anonymous

Guest
i dont send as a pdf, and not exactly sure as to process. but, to send a zap file thru outlook first mark file to send as edi:

1. open outlook and start new mail.
2. send attachment(click insert, first line is attachement, click)
3 look in c drive for wintotal or wherever u have wintotal
3. open inet file look for your file in mailoutbox to send as zapfile
4. double click your file, becomes an attachment. it's a zap file
5. send email

to do as pdf, same process, but, u must first convert file to pdf. then follow steps above. in windows subsection look under pdffiles. clock and send

good luck
 
A

Anonymous

Guest
neil,

i agree, some bugs and glitches with new software are unavoidable. i guess my point is that i do a ton of work on wintotal, have found several glitches and tech support either couldn't resolve problem or wouldnt acknowledge a problem existed. case in point is the current edi center issues. they've gotten too smug.
 

jtrotta

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2002
Don't know anything about Wintotal - just switched this year to ACI - and it was the best move I've made over the past few years. Haven't been doing the AVM thing so that part doesn't really come into play for me, just enjoy the simplicity of the system.

It's like anything else, takes about 60-90 days to acclimate to all the various aspects, but once your used to it - it's enjoyable 8)

Good Luck :!:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Find a Real Estate Appraiser - Enter Zip Code

Copyright © 2000-, AppraisersForum.com, All Rights Reserved
AppraisersForum.com is proudly hosted by the folks at
AppraiserSites.com
Top

AdBlock Detected

We get it, advertisements are annoying!

Sure, ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks useful features of our website. For the best site experience please disable your AdBlocker.

I've Disabled AdBlock
No Thanks