• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

FHA: Engineer’s Certification/Report

Status
Not open for further replies.

a208man

Thread Starter
Freshman Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2008
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Tennessee
If you are doing an FHA appraisal of a manufactured home for a sale, and the existing (seller’s) mortgage is an FHA loan, is an Engineer’s Certificate/Report for the foundation still required? Underwriter is telling me it is not, but I cannot find any proof of this.
 

Jo Ann Meyer Stratton

Elite Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Arizona
All appraisals for a manufactured home are completed "subject to" an inspection of the installation and foundation for complinace with the Permanent Foundation Guidelines for Manufactured Homes. That inspection report has to be in the binder prior to the lender submitting to HUD. It may be a current one or one that has been done in the past for a prior FHA loan but a copy must be in the current binder.

http://www.HUD.gov/offices/hsg/sfh/ref/sfhp1-9d.cfm
 

a208man

Thread Starter
Freshman Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2008
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Tennessee
Thanks, that is was I thought.
 

a208man

Thread Starter
Freshman Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2008
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Tennessee
O.K., I was finally provided a copy of a 3-year old engineer's certification report for my subject that was done for a previous FHA loan. Now underwriter says that is unaccetable, it has to be a current one, which I do not think is correct. Does anyone know were the documentation is that states an old engineer's report from a prior FHA loan can be utilized.
 

RSW

Elite Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Tennessee
Why were you provided with the report? The report should go to the U/W not you.
 

CANative

Elite Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2003
Professional Status
Retired Appraiser
State
California
Tell them to have the "real" underwriter call you as you don't have time to deal with trainees.
 

a208man

Thread Starter
Freshman Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2008
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Tennessee
Why were you provided with the report? The report should go to the U/W not you.

4150.1, CHG-1
"The lender should furnish the appraiser with a design engineer's inspection of the foundation prior to the appraisal."
 

Mr Rex

Elite Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2004
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
North Carolina
Here is the current protocol from Appendix D:

Permanent Foundation System
· Mark the applicable box. To be eligible for a FHA-insured financing, the design of the permanent foundation must be in compliance with FHA criteria as evidenced by an engineer’s certification verifying such compliance.
The appraiser should indicate if a copy of the required engineer’s certification of compliance of the design of the permanent foundation was provided.
 

RSW

Elite Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Tennessee
4150.1, CHG-1
"The lender should furnish the appraiser with a design engineer's inspection of the foundation prior to the appraisal."

This information is outdated. Read the Revised Appendix D. Rex has posted the reference above.
 

a208man

Thread Starter
Freshman Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2008
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Tennessee
o.k., Thanks.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Find a Real Estate Appraiser - Enter Zip Code

Copyright © 2000-, AppraisersForum.com, All Rights Reserved
AppraisersForum.com is proudly hosted by the folks at
AppraiserSites.com
Top

AdBlock Detected

We get it, advertisements are annoying!

Sure, ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks useful features of our website. For the best site experience please disable your AdBlocker.

I've Disabled AdBlock
No Thanks