• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

FHA ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

joycedconner

Freshman Member
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Washington
I inspected a property for an FHA appraisal and one of the garage stalls had been finished into living area by the previous homeowner, however, a building permit was not obtained. What is the protocol for this? I didn't include the GLA in the appraisal and explained the situation but I was told that the addition makes the property non compliant with FHA guidelines. I've read the FHA guidelines twice and cannot locate any comments about this. Help!!! Also, the bank has requested that I have 5 years minimum licensed appraisal experience after the report was sent to them. I have 21/2 years of licensed experience and 21/2 years of apprenticing. Can they require this after the approval for the loan?

ZZGAMAZZ

Elite Member
Professional Status
State
California
You didn't hear it from me because I'm a newbee (forever) but the skinny on the street is that failure to acknowledge additions/conversions done in workmanlike manner, etc., for FHA assignments could result in the appraiser's certification being revoked by HUD.

If you are one of those appraisers who prefers to refrain from determining market reaction to non-permitted areas, you have a decision to make, and there is no FHA liability shield of which I am aware.

(just my opinion based upon limited experience...)

joycedconner

Freshman Member
Professional Status
State
Washington
FHA appraisals