• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

General Certification Classes (Should I take them)

Status
Not open for further replies.

stedios

Sophomore Member
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Pennsylvania
Good evening all. I have been reading this forum for some time, and here is my first post. Note, the following disregards experience hours and final examination (which I’m aware of). Also, I have taken the USPAP course and passed.

My question is somewhat general, but here is some necessary background information.

I graduated from an accredited university with a bachelor’s degree in business (majored in Real Estate and Finance). According to my state's board, Pennsylvania, if I can prove that I covered the topics required for General Certification in my college classes, I do not need further education. This would be done by writing up a course description for each class with topics/hours covered, and then having it notarized by the University/professors. This is easier said then done, as classes overlap (topics) and it is very unclear how much time we spent in any given topic. But, I believe we covered 80-95% of the topics throughout my courses, at least. Nonetheless, I believe I got a pretty good handle on the majority of the topics, although they were not always geared towards appraisals (i.e. we covered leases but not specifically how they would be considered in an appraisal).

So, my question is this: Should I a) spend considerable time drawing up my courses and what we covered in them, specifically, delineate the hours, and have it notarized by the University, or b) consider my college education a good base and take most/all of the basic courses through the Appraisal Institute?