• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Geo - Competency Appraisal Review

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mike Kennedy

Elite Member
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
New York
JANUARY 2008 USPAP Q&A - GEOGRAPHIC COMPETENCY IN APPRAISAL REVIEWS

Question: I have a client who has asked me to perform a desk review on a
property located in a different state. I have no knowledge of the real
estate market in that state and have never even stepped foot there
. Can I perform a USPAP-compliant appraisal review on this property?

Response: Yes. If you are engaged to determine whether or not the
appraisal under review complies with certain guidelines or standards,
geographic competence is not typically relevant.

Alternatively, review assignments that include evaluating the selection and adjustment of comparable sales typically require geographic competence.

As in all assignments, an appraiser must identify the scope of work required for the assignment and determine if he or she has the knowledge and experience to complete the assignment competently.

Restrain

Elite Member
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Florida
With realtor.com, RealQuest, tax records, and other sources, you can make a pretty good determination of value even though you haven't been there. I realize that there are individual factors which can significantly affect value. However, there is data out there that can point you in a direction.