• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Going to court for the first time.

Status
Not open for further replies.

clarocca

Freshman Member
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Florida
Hey everybody, I'm pretty new to Appraiser's Forum and have a question.
Does anybody have any advice for somebody going to court for the first time? I did a private appraisal for a client (asset separation) and am going to court tomorrow morning. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Mr Rex

Elite Member
Professional Status
State
North Carolina
Dress appropriately and don't carry your kid or dog with you.

JRS at OBX

Elite Member
Professional Status
State
North Carolina
Give answers clearly and honestly. Keep them clear and precise. If you do not know something, state that you don't know.

Thomas Fiehler

Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Ohio
When possible answer yes or no. If they want an explanation they will ask. MAKE DARN SURE THAT YOU WILL NOT BE SURPRISED. Know everything about the appraisal so the opposition doesn't surprise you. Remember that you are the appraiser/professional and not the attorney. I always ask the attorney who hires me if there is another appraisal and if so, I will provide them with a review and and help that I might give them. Charge them an appropriate fee. I charge an hourly rate once I leave my office with a minimum of 1/2 day. That way they are not likely to waste your time sitting in the lobby or hallway.

Michigan CG

Staff member
Professional Status
State
Michigan
Read your report 10 times so you know every line and the justification for your adjustments. Be calm. Be confident. Be better than the opposition appraiser (hopefully your report is).