• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Good Advice Needed!

Status
Not open for further replies.

DavidBrown

Freshman Member
Hi everyone,

My name is Kelly, and Dave was nice enough to let me post this question to you. He has stated that you have all been very nice to him, and that I should express my concerns and see what you all think.

I am 31 years old and decided to try my hand at Appraisal in January, after completing my courses. I am a former High School Math Teacher. I was laid off earlier this year due to cut backs.

I began with a mentor who runs her own small business and has never worked with anyone else before. Our relationship is great, but despite talking with her about my concerns, I dont feel I am improving. As a teacher myself, I feel their is something missing, yet, I am afraid to hurt her feelings by leaving and also afraid that no one else will train me.

The office gets about 2-3 orders per week and we do NO direct business with lenders or lawyers. Primarily, people call themselves when they want an Appraisal. Maybe they are thinking of selling, or refinancing, and want to know where they stand.

My first appraisal was a 3 bedroom cape. This was back in January. It took over 5 weeks to complete. I handed it in 6 or 7 times for review, each time additional revisions were made. Finally, the person who ordered it called and was so angry, we finished that day. Several times when I handed in the Appraisal for review, it took several days to get it back with the needed corrections.